POM SPAN 120B / Modern Spain as Contact Zone / Prof. Cahill / SP23

This four-volume set covers world authors from many periods and genres, building a broad understanding of the various contexts--from the biographical to the literary to the historical--in which literature can be viewed. The Gale Contextual Encyclopedia of World Literature will allow a reader to analyze an author's work as a reflection of the heritage, traditions and experiences of the author's personal life and the beliefs, events, and lifestyles of the world at the time. The nearly 500 entries will also identify the significant literary devices and global themes that define a writer's style and place the author in a larger literary tradition as chronicled and evaluated by critics over time.

Contains roughly 850 entries about Spanish-language literature throughout the world. Provides information on both major and minor authors, themes, genres, and topics of Spanish literature from the Middle Ages to the present day across all countries that produce literature in Spanish in Europe, Africa, the Americas, and Asia. While writings throughout the centuries are covered, those of the 20th and 21st centuries receive special consideration. Provides bibliographies containing major English-language print reference works, free electronic sources with peer-reviewed information, major academic websites, and well-established electronic journals Contains an extended glossary of literary and cultural terms and basic cultural features of Hispanic society. Includes a chronological appendix containing entries organized by date.

This reference work looks at the literature of Spain from the perspective of women's studies. Though the volume focuses on the literature of Spain written in Castilian, it also includes survey entries on the present state of women's literature in Catalan, Galician, and Basque. Included are hundreds of alphabetically arranged entries for numerous topics related to Spanish literature, including literary periods and genres, significant characters and character types, major authors and works, and various specialized topics. Each entry discusses how the topic relates to women's studies. Entries for male authors discuss their attitudes toward women. Female writers are considered for the restrictive cultural contexts in which they wrote. Specific works are examined for their representations of female characters and their handling of women's issues. Each entry is written by an expert contributor and closes with a brief bibliography. The volume concludes with a list of works for further reading.

Essays on a variety of Spanish authors who shaped the development of Spanish fiction in the twentieth century. Entries focus on the interconnections between life and writing and trace the writers' personal response to the cultural, intellectual and political concerns of the day, as well as to the traditions and literary styles that shaped their imagination. Provides a condensed assessment of the authors' aesthetic and personal preferences as shown through their writings.

Defining literature in the broad sense, the Dictionary includes historical, religious, cultural and philosophical writings as well as prose, poetry, and drama from the Iberian Peninsula. Virtually all entries have been composed by noted scholars and are complemented wherever possible by bibliographies of primary texts and selected critical studies as well as existing English translations of primary texts. This two-volume work generally includes literature from the tenth century to the mid-1980s and--with a few exceptions--is limited to writers born in the Iberian Peninsula. There are also entries on major time periods, movements, and other topics. Wherever possible, the text of each entry is followed by a three part bibliography; and some cross-referencing.

Combining assiduous attention to biography and bibliography with original literary criticism oriented toward feminist theory, this volume profiles and analyzes fifty significant women writers of Spain--some celebrated and some overlooked--from the fourteenth century to the present. The work includes poets, fiction writers, dramatists, and essayists. Lives and works are examined with reference to complex issues surrounding gender, creativity, and social mores. Partly informed by findings of the fifty contributing scholars, Levine and Marson have also provided a volume introduction interpreting herstory in terms of Spanish culture, likening the struggle for identity and artistic expression in an engendered world to balancing on a tightrope. Extensive bibliographies for each writer document original works, modern editions and translations, and criticism; and a general bibliography selects valuable sources pertaining to Spanish women writers and gender-related topics.

A collection of biographical and critical essays on Spanish poets of the 20th century. The main essay on each poet provides a chronological discussion of the author's life, works and critical reception.

Provides reliable information in an easily comprehensible format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history.