As a reminder, for this paper you will be using Chicago Manual of Style. Within Chicago style there are actual two varieties of citation systems: author-date and notes-bibliography. For this paper, you'll be using the notes-bibliography system of Chicago. In this mode, you cite your sources with a footnote in the text and then have a corresponding full bibliographic entry for the source in your reference list.
Don't forget, if you ever have questions about citations or citation managers, you can reach out to me and I'll be happy to help!
(17th edition) Includes 2 basic documentation systems: the humanities style (notes and bibliography) and the author-date style. This online version is searchable (by word, phrase, or paragraph #), making it easy to find answers to style and editing questions. Also includes a Citation Quick Guide.
A Research Guide created by the library to answer your Chicago questions.
Get Started Using Zotero
Citation Managers are tools to help you keep track of your citations as you research and to create/format your citations and bibliography. For example, Zotero allows you to keep citations, full text articles, and other research resources organized in one place. You can also use these tools to format your bibliographies and the notes/citations in your papers according to the appropriate style (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.).
Zotero is a free open source application that works with Firefox, Chrome, and Safari, you can also download a client to your computer. It is a good choice if you use just one computer when researching. You can access citation information when online or offline.
Download this guide to walk you through how to download Zotero on your computer.
Pitfalls of Automatic Citation Managers/Formatters and Art Books
If you are using a citation manager such as Zotero, or any other tool that automatically formats citations, you must be very careful when citing art books. Many art books are listed in library catalogs with the artist as author of the book, even if they were dead when it was written.
For example, this book was published in 2009, over 30 years after Picasso died
The auto formatted citation will be
Picasso, Pablo, Yve-Alain. Bois, and Palazzo del Vittoriano (Rome, Italy). 2009. Picasso Harlequin, 1917-1937. Milano: Skira.