Law, News and Business Database.
Full text news articles, law journal articles, court cases, briefs, legal codes, and SEC filings. Users can Shepardize court cases and then read the full text of the related decisions. Most publications are covered 1980-present. The best place to find interview transcripts from television and radio.
This database includes autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, audio files , and other documents relevant to Native American history, thought and culture from the sixteenth century through the mid to late twentieth century.
A collection from The Claremont Colleges Digital Library (CCDL), the collection consists primarily of photographs from Special Collections of The Claremont Colleges Library which document how the American west has been imaged historically and over the years. Collection currently contains landscape photography and portraits of Native Americans.
Provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.
Citations and abstracts to hearings, committee reports, bill files, witness testimony, and more issued by Congress from 1769-present. Full-text is available through 2010, later for some titles. Full-Text Hearings 1824-2010; (CRS) Reports 1916-present, committee prints from 1830-current; Serials Set documents from 1789; the Congressional Record (1969-1994 in print); and Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations, 1789-2017.
The Regional Oral History Office (ROHO), a division of The Bancroft Library, documents the history of California, the nation, and the interconnected global arena. ROHO produces carefully researched, audio/video-recorded and transcribed oral histories and interpretative historical materials for the widest possible use.
Provides free public access to digital collections of significant primary and secondary resources on water in the western United States. These collections have been made available by research libraries belonging to the Greater Western Library Alliance (GWLA) and other academic library partners.
Statistics on population, work, health, education, elections, industry, and economics. Some back to 1790, up through 2004. Most data updated by the Census Bureau web site. Can create custom tables which can also be downloaded, printed, or graphed.
Provides easy access to demographic data about the United States, 1790 - present. Creates maps and reports based on decennial censuses of 1940 to 2010 and the American Community Survey. Data is downloadable for use with spreadsheet and mapping applications. Note: Create a personal account in order to use the database.
Repository of over 35 billion datapoints from over 450 databases sourced from 70 public and private organizations. Searchable by keyword, subject and source. The datasets permit correlation of multiple, diverse indicators, with tools to interpret and visualize the data. Data available from 1948 - present.
Primary Sources in Library Catalogs
Primary sources of all types can also be found in our regular, circulating books, in special collections, and beyond. Here are few ways to find primary texts and sources by using our own The Library Search.
1. Use the author search to find books we have by a particular author, politician, journalist or another type of historical witness
2. Do an advanced keyword search in The Library Search and then limit by publication years under “limit your search”) (note: you can also limit by language and many other ways)
3. . Do an advanced keyword in Library Search and then limit by years and then limit to the word "sources" in the subject field (by using the dropdown menu), for example:
"native american" in the subject field (or "indians of North America")
"schools OR education" in the keyword or subject fields
"native american" in the keyword or subject fields
"sources" in the subject field.
(this brings us the Library of Congress Subject subheading “sources” which is sometimes used to designate primary source collections of different kinds — as in