Skip to Main Content
The Library is now open for students, staff, and faculty of The Claremont Colleges. See COVID-19 Services and Updates for more information.

AMST 180: American Studies Seminar/ Professor Cheng / Fall 2021

Primary Sources in The Library Search

Primary sources of all types can also be found in our regular, circulating books, in Special Collections, and beyond.
 
Here are few ways to find primary texts and sources by using our own Library Search:
  1. Use the author search  to find books we have by a particular author, politician, journalist or another type of historical witness
  2. Do an advanced keyword search in The Library Search and then limit by publication years under “limit your search”) (note:  you can also limit by language and many other ways).
  3. Do an advanced keyword in Library Search and then limit by years and then limit to the word  "sources" in the subject field (by using the dropdown menu), for example:

"native american" in the subject  field (or "indians of North America")

"schools OR education" in the keyword or subject fields

"native american" in the keyword or subject fields

"sources" in the subject field. 
 
This brings us the Library of Congress Subject subheading “sources” which is sometimes used to designate primary source collections of different kinds — as in:
  • Indians of North America -- sources

Please note that sometimes these subject headings are helpful; sometimes they are too broad or narrow.

You can also limit to time period or to our own Special Collections as a location.

A  rich source of primary materials is Honnold/Mudd Special Collections and its librarians.  

About Special Collections

Located in The Claremont Colleges Library, Special Collections is a place where you can connect to the past by examining rare books, reading original letters and manuscripts, and studying historical photographs and other objects. We collect, preserve, and make accessible collections that span more than 900 years of human history, with particular depth in 16th-20th centuries, the American West, science, music and theater, Asian history and culture, books and printing, and the history of The Claremont Colleges and the larger Claremont community, among other subjects, places, and eras.

In addition to your class bibliography, you can find other lists of sources and exhibit catalogs we have created during each academic year for a variety of Special Collections classes, exhibitions, and events. These bibliographies provide glimpses into the wide range of special collections held by The Claremont Colleges Library which are available for your research.