Skip to Main Content

AMST 180: American Studies Seminar/ Professor Cheng / Spring 2024

Historic and Presenday Newspapers

Below are very few of our primary source databases relevant to American Studies, just to give you a taste of what we offer.  Please see the research guides listed on the previous page for a much fuller offering, including the US History Guide

Primary Sources in Library Search

Primary sources of all types can also be found in our regular, circulating books, in Special Collections, and beyond.
 
Here are few ways to find primary texts and sources by using Library Search:
  1. Use the author search  to find books we have by a particular author, politician, journalist or another type of historical witness
  2. Do an advanced keyword search in The Library Search and then limit by publication years under “limit your search”) (note:  you can also limit by language and many other ways).
  3. Do an advanced keyword in Library Search and then limit by years and then limit to the word  "sources" in the subject field (by using the dropdown menu), for example:

"native american" in the subject  field (or "indians of North America")

"schools OR education" in the keyword or subject fields

"native american" in the keyword or subject fields

"sources" in the subject field. 
 
This brings us the Library of Congress Subject subheading “sources” which is sometimes used to designate primary source collections of different kinds — as in:
  • Indians of North America -- sources

Please note that sometimes these subject headings are helpful; sometimes they are too broad or narrow.

You can also limit to time period or to our own Special Collections as a location.

Special Collections

Room with shelves of books and wood table.Special Collections is the Library’s principal repository for print and manuscript primary sources. The collections number nearly 200,000 volumes and more than 11,000 linear feet of a diverse array of literary and historical manuscripts, personal papers, and college archives that span more than 900 years of human history. The collections are available for research, teaching, and study in person, and, increasingly, digitally in the Claremont Colleges Digital Library.

  1. Explore collections on the Special Collections website.
  2. Request materials using your Special Collections Account.
  3. Make an appointment to view your requested materials.

Visit the Special Collections Access Guide for help discovering and requesting Special Collections materials and contact Special Collections with questions.