Welcome! This course guide has been created to assist you with finding library resources related to your coursework. Please feel free to contact me at any point throughout the research process, if you need help.
Complete online archive of all American Anthropological Association (AAA) journals through 2003. Includes current issues for 11 of the AAA's peer-reviewed publications including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, Anthropology and Humanism, Archaeological Publications of the American Anthropological Association, Cultural Anthropology, Ethos, Journal of Linguistic Anthropology, Medical Anthropology Quarterly, NAPA Bulletin and PoLAR: The Political and Legal Anthropology Review.
A growing full text collection of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Most titles only include backfiles (some as far back as the early 1800s), with only some current content. Also includes university press ebooks.
Indexes over a million dissertations and masters theses from academic institutions in the US, Canada, Great Britain, and Europe. Includes full text for over 100,000 dissertations.
Why search for dissertations?
You are having trouble finding books and journal articles on your topic.
-You are exploring a new area of research.
-A few suggestions on how to use dissertations:
Review the bibliography for relevant sources. Dissertations often have extremely comprehensive bibliographies.
See if the author has published an article(s) or a book related to the dissertation. If the author is of particular interest a good first step is to Google the author's name and see if you can find a list of publications by the author.
Other Research Guides
You may also want to consult research guides in other fields.