Getting Started - POM HIST 101E.1 - Science and Empire FA 23/ Pey-yi Chu - Research Guides at The Claremont Colleges Library

Your Assignment and this guide

Welcome to the research course guide for Science and Empire, which includes only selected databases for your research paper. For a more detailed list of both primary databases, please see other research guides in history and other subjects (some of which are listed in the box below) This guide also has sections on Special Collections (with list of the materials from your workshop with Lisa Crane), a page on search strategies, and a page on writing and citing (including information about Zotero).

Please remember that I and other librarians are here to help you. Don't hesitate to contact me or make an appointment.

Selected Databases

Selected databases for secondary, scholarly literature:

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The Main database for scholarship in History from 1450 to present. Covers all areas of the world with the exception of the US and Canada. For the US and Canada, use "America: History and Life" below.
Language: English, French, German, Spanish, etc.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
The main database for scholarship about the history of the US and Canada.
Language: English, French, Russian, German, Spanish, etc.
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine This link opens in a new window
The main database for the history of Science.
Covers scientific developments from prehistory to the present across scientific disciplines such as biology, computer science, engineering, geography, mathematics, neuroscience, pharmacy, physics, psychiatry, and public health.
Language: English, Italian, German, French, Spanish, Russian, Dutch, Polish, etc.

Library Search!
Provides access to resources owned by the Claremont Colleges Library, and to millions of resources from other libraries worldwide. In addition to physical materials housed in the library, Library Search also provides access to online sources (eBooks, articles, dissertations, and streaming video and audio).

Selected databases to find primary resources

Making of the Modern World This link opens in a new window
Major database of books in European Languages from 1450 to the mid 19th Century with a broad focus on economics and business
Additionally, there are sources discussing the history of the working class, the history of slavery and colonization, the labor movement, as well as other topics that relate to and challenge capitalism.
Language: English, French, Spanish, German, Latin, Italian, and other European languages.
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Why search here? To access some of the earliest printed works in English, published in England, Scotland, Ireland, and other countries.
Content type: Primary sources, books
Coverage dates: 1470-1700
In addition to English, sources in Latin, Algonquian languages, and many others are included. New content is added once per year.
Language: English
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Good for getting a sense of what constituted knowledge in eighteenth century England, Ireland, and Scotland, including journals and diaries, religious materials, creative works, and political documents.
Content type: Primary sources, books, pamphlets, diaries, broadsides
Coverage dates: 1701-1800
Includes some (but not many) works from other countries and in other languages.
Language: English, French, Latin
Early American Imprints, Series I-II This link opens in a new window
Why search here? To explore all aspects of life in the American Colonies and the early U.S. Republic, through books, pamphlets, broadsides and other scarce printed materials published in the American Colonies and early U.S. republic.
Content type: Primary sources, books, pamphlets, broadsides
Coverage dates: 1639-1819
Includes both full text and digital images of materials published in America from 1639-1800 (Series I: Evans) and 1801-1819 (Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker). Both series cover subjects ranging from history, literature and culture to politics, government and society.
Language: English
Keywords: Readex
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
While this database catalogs both copyright and out-of-copyright works, it include .Includes full text for many books and other printed materials , with a majority from 18th-20th Centuries.
HathiTrust is a collective of academic and research libraries that digitizes materials, whether they are in-copyright or the public domain, for the purpose of preservation. Eligible students with a print disability can request a copy of any book in the collection, regardless of copyright status.
Language: English, German, French, Spanish, Russian, Chinese, Japanese, Arabic, etc.
Keywords: Hathi Trust

Primary Sources in Library Catalogs

Primary sources of all types can also be found in our regular, circulating books, in Special Collections, and beyond. Here are few ways to find primary texts and sources by using Library Search.

1. Use the author search to find books we have by a particular author, politician, journalist or another type of historical witness

2. Do an advanced keyword search in The Library Search and then limit by publication year under “limit your search”) (note: you can also limit by language and many other ways)

3. . Do an advanced keyword in Library Search and then limit by years and then limit to the word "sources" in the subject field (by using the dropdown menu), for example:

"native american" in the subject field (or "indians of North America")

"schools OR education" in the keyword or subject fileds

"sources" in the subject field.

(this brings us the Library of Congress Subject subheading “sources” which is sometimes used to designate primary source collections of different kinds — as in

Indians of North America -- sources

Other Useful Guides

Arts and Humanities Librarian

Adam Rosenkranz

Email Me

Contact:

Research, Teaching, & User Services - The Claremont Colleges Library

909 607-3986

Subjects: American Studies, Classics / Ancient Studies & Late Antique-Medieval Studies, European Studies, German, History, Languages & Literatures, Late Antique-Medieval Studies, Latin American Studies, Middle Eastern / North African Studies, Philosophy, Russian, Science, Technology, & Society, U.S. History