Skip to Main Content
The Library is now open for students, staff, and faculty of The Claremont Colleges. See COVID-19 Services and Updates for more information.

POM HIST 101E.1 - Science and Empire FA 21/ Pey-yi Chu

Your Assignment and this guide

Welcome to the research course guide for Science and Empire, which includes only selected databases for your research paper.  For a more detailed list of both primary databases, please see other research guides in history and other subjects (some of which are listed in the box below)  This guide also has sections on Special Collections (with list of the materials from your workshop with Lisa Crane), a page on search strategies, and a page on writing and citing (including information about Zotero).

Please remember that I and other librarians are here to help you.  Don't hesitate to contact me or make an appointment.

Selected Databases

 Selected databases for secondary, scholarly literature:

Selected databases to find primary resources

Primary Sources in Library Catalogs

Primary sources of all types can also be found in our regular, circulating books, in special collections, and beyond.  Here are few ways to find primary texts and sources by using our own  The Library Search.
 
1. Use the author search  to find books we have by a particular author, politician, journalist or another type of historical witness
 
2.  Do an advanced keyword search in The Library Search and then limit by publication year under “limit your search”) (note:  you can also limit by language and many other ways)
 
3. . Do an advanced keyword in Library Search and then limit by years and then limit to the word  "sources" in the subject field (by using the dropdown menu), for example:

"native american" in the subject  field (or "indians of North America")

"schools OR education" in the keyword or subject fileds

"sources" in the subject field. 
 
(this brings us the Library of Congress Subject subheading “sources” which is sometimes used to designate primary source collections of different kinds — as in
 
Indians of North America -- sources
 
 
A  rich source of primary materials is Honnold/Mudd Special Collections  and its librarians.  
 
 

Arts and Humanities Librarian

Profile Photo
Adam Rosenkranz
Chat requires JavaScript.
Contact:
RTLS Division
The Claremont Colleges Library
909-607-3986 (x73986)
Website