Research Guides: SCR PHIL155 / Ethics of the Beginning and End of Life / R. Weinberg / FA23: Databases & Resources in Philosophy and Bioethics

Resources for The Ethics of the Beginning and End of Life

Sources For Your Assignment

The two best places to find academic sources (i.e. peer reviewed articles in journal or scholarly books) for your final paper are Philosopher's Index and PhilPapers. While Philosopher's Index is a more traditional database with wider breadth and traditional keyword searching PhilPapers is a more specialized database curated by philosophers that is excellent for exploring topics. Your professor wants you to use these two database in philosophy, but I've included other databases in case you want to explore supplemental sources in topics other than philosophy.. Academic Search Premier has both peer-reviewed articles and magazine articles in all disciplines. Nexis/Uni has newspapers and court cases. These would be excellent for finding sources about real world examples in bioethics. I've also included background sources such as the the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact me (the guy on the right).

Main databases for finding scholarship in Philosophy

Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Why search here? The main database for finding scholarship in philosophy, including peer-reviewed books .
Content type: Abstracts of scholarly articles, books
Broader than PhilPapers; it covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, epistemology, logic, and metaphysics as well as material on the philosophy of disciplines, such as law, religion, science, history, and education.
Language: English, Spanish, Italian, German, French, Portuguese, Polish, Turkish, etc.
PhilPapers This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Find scholarship in philosophy and explore landmark literatures in different branches of philosophy
Content type: Abstracts of scholarly articles, books
PhilPapers curated by philosophers in the field.
Language: English
Keywords: Phil Papers

OTHER USEFUL DATABASES

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Search here for comprehensive coverage of news and current events, government, business, medical, and legal topics, as well as general reference information.
Content type: Newspaper articles, trade journal articles, broadcast transcripts, financial reports, federal and state case law, medical abstracts, corporate profiles
Coverage dates: 1980-present
Language: English, Spanish, French, Dutch, German, Portuguese
Keywords: Lexis Nexis

Library Search!
Provides access to resources owned by the Claremont Colleges Library, and to millions of resources from other libraries worldwide. In addition to physical materials housed in the library, Library Search also provides access to online sources (eBooks, articles, dissertations, and streaming video and audio).

Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Search for scholarly and popular sources about gender and women's studies topics.
Content type: Scholarly articles, reviews, magazine articles, newspaper articles, dissertations
Coverage dates: 1750-present
Language: English, French, German, Spanish, etc.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Discover biomedical and life sciences research using this search tool run by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
Content type: Abstracts of scholarly articles, clinical trials, meta-anlayses, systematic reviews, books
Includes advanced search tools such as Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) and the Clinical Queries feature. Personalized MyNCBI account features, such as email alerts, are only available by leaving the Library's instance of PubMed and accessing the resource through the open web site (pubmed.gov).
Language: English
Keywords: Pub Med
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Great for discovering scholarly research across a wide array of subject areas, primarily published in high-impact (highly cited) journals in the physical and life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Content type: Abstracts of scholarly articles, conference proceedings, book chapters
Coverage dates: 1965-present
Easily explore an article bibliography, as well as sources that have cited the article since its publication, via the Citation Network feature. Create a free personal account to keep a comprehensive search history, create search alerts and citation alerts. Additional features related to author and journal profiles are available.
Language: English, Russian, French, German, Chinese, Spanish, Japanese, Portuguese, etc.
Keywords: Social Science Citation Index Science Citation Index Arts and Humanities Citation Index Conference Proceedings Citation Index Emerging Sources Citation Index WoS Knowledge

Supplementary / Background Sources for Philosophy

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Good starting point when researching topics that intersect with multiple disciplines.
Content type: Scholarly articles, newspaper articles, magazine articles, trade journal articles
Coverage dates: 1887-present; varies by title
Language: English, Spanish, Russian, Portuguese, Turkish, French, Chinese, Arabic etc.
Keywords: ASP
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Discover abstracts and citations from leading political science journals.
Content type: Abstracts and citations for scholarly articles, monographs, magazine articles, dissertations, theses
Coverage dates: 1975-present
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts is the electronic counterpart and continuation of the print publication Political Science Abstracts.
Language: English, Spanish, French, Portuguese, German
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Good for abstracts and citations of politcal science literature from a wide range of international and domestic sources.
Content type: Abstracts and citations for scholarly articles, monographs, government documents, statistical directories, research reports, conference papers, web content
Coverage dates: 1915-present
PAIS Index combines two databases: PAIS International and PAIS Archive. PAIS International is the electronic version and continuation of the print publications PAIS Bulletin and PAIS Foreign Language Index. PAIS Archive is the electronic version of the print publication PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin.
Language: English, German, French, Spanish
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Search for scholarly and popular sources about gender and women's studies topics.
Content type: Scholarly articles, reviews, magazine articles, newspaper articles, dissertations
Coverage dates: 1750-present
Language: English, French, German, Spanish, etc.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Search here for comprehensive coverage of news and current events, government, business, medical, and legal topics, as well as general reference information.
Content type: Newspaper articles, trade journal articles, broadcast transcripts, financial reports, federal and state case law, medical abstracts, corporate profiles
Coverage dates: 1980-present
Language: English, Spanish, French, Dutch, German, Portuguese
Keywords: Lexis Nexis

Reference and Primary Sources

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Why search here? A good encyclopedia for philosophy, arranged by philosophical themes, philosophies, historical periods, and religions.
Content type: Encyclopedia articles, reference material
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is generally preferred over Routledge by academic philosophers.
Language: English

The Hastings Center
Major site for finding information about the ethics of health

Past Masters Full Text Humanities This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Access to full text of scholarly editions in literature, philosophy, and theology, plus correspondence of selected authors.
Content type: Books, correspondence
Language: English

Research Guides in Other Subjects

Philosophy
by Adam Rosenkranz Aug 31, 2023 249 views this year
Politics
by Dieter Mackenbach Sep 29, 2023 162 views this year
Government Information
by Mary Martin Sep 29, 2023 281 views this year
Science, Technology, & Society (STS)
by Adam Rosenkranz Oct 3, 2023 193 views this year
Sociology
by Dieter Mackenbach Oct 27, 2023 133 views this year
Biology
by Katie Kohn Sep 21, 2023 602 views this year

Arts and Humanities Librarian

Adam Rosenkranz

Email Me

Contact:

Research, Teaching, & User Services - The Claremont Colleges Library

909 607-3986

Subjects: American Studies, Classics / Ancient Studies & Late Antique-Medieval Studies, European Studies, German, History, Languages & Literatures, Late Antique-Medieval Studies, Latin American Studies, Middle Eastern / North African Studies, Philosophy, Russian, Science, Technology, & Society, U.S. History