Library open only to current Claremont Colleges students, faculty, and staff: Tuesday, December 6 - Thursday, December 15. Exceptions include those visiting Bookstore, Cafe, and Special Collections Appointments. More info on Blackout Dates for Community Access.
Your Assignment and Selected Databases for your Historiography Paper
This guide is meant as gateway, with a listing of selected databases to find sources for your final projects. Some of you will need more primary or secondary sources than others; for some of you, the databases on this guide will suffice. For more databases, including primary source database, please consult other research guides, some of which are listed below.
Where to start? Research is more of an art than science, so there are many starting points. The Advanced Library Search is a good place to begin, as is Academic Search Premier, which will find sources from many disciplines, but will also find current, non-scholarly sources. Because there is an historical dimension to most of your topics, you may also want to search in America: History and Life (scholarship in US or Canadian history) or Historical Abstracts (for scholarship in World history). More information on these below.
This guide also includes information on writing / citing as well as well as tips on search strategy. Navigate through the guide using the tabs on the left.
If you are new to conducting research at The Library or would like a review:
Consider the Starting Your Research tutorial to learn the phases and processes of doing research.
Please don't hesitate to reach out to me or to schedule an appointment.
This multidisciplinary database has both peer reviewed, scholarly articles and non-scholarly articles from newspapers and magazines. It is a good place for current viewpoints as well as to pull sources from many disciplines
Language: English, Spanish, Russian, Portuguese, Turkish, French, Chinese, Arabic etc.
The Library Search can also be used to find literature and historical sources in Italian or in translation. Use the "Language" and "Location" drop-down menus to limit to language or to a specific location such as Special Collections.
Why search here? Visually explore hundreds of thousands of variables related to demography, economics, health, politics, the environment and more, with the ability to generate custom reports and maps.
Content type: Data
Special Note: Create an account to save data.
U.S. data sources include the decennial census, American Community Survey, FBI Uniform Crime Report, American election results, Religious Congregations and Membership Study, Vulcan Project carbon emissions data, U.S. Business Patterns, and County Health Rankings. It also includes international data from the United Kingdom Census, Canadian Census, Eurostat, and World Development Indicators.