Skip to main content
COVID-19 UPDATE: CURBSIDE PICKUP AND MAILING NOW AVAILABLE
Library building closed except for Connection. See COVID-19 Service Updates and Resources

SCR Core III: Landscapes of Plunder / FA20 / Professor Cheng

Your Assignment and Selected Databases for your Historiography Paper

This guide is meant as gateway, with a listing of selected databases to find sources for your final projects.  Some of you will need more primary or secondary sources than others; for some of you, the databases on this guide will suffice.     For more databases, including primary source database, please consult other research guides, some of which are listed below.

Where to start?  Research is more of an art than science, so there are many starting points. The Advanced Library Search is a good place to begin, as is Academic Search Premier, which will find sources from many disciplines, but will also find current, non-scholarly sources.   Because there is an historical dimension to most of your topics, you may also want to search in America: History and Life (scholarship in US or Canadian history) or Historical Abstracts (for scholarship in World history). More information on these below.

This guide also includes information on writing / citing as well as well as tips on search strategy.  Navigate through the guide using the tabs on the left.

If you are new to conducting research at The Library or would like a review:
Consider the Starting Your Research tutorial to learn the phases and processes of doing research.

Please don't hesitate to reach out to me or to schedule an appointment.

Secondary Resources

Primary Sources in The Library Search

Primary sources of all types can also be found in our regular, circulating books, in special collections, and beyond.  Here are few ways to find primary texts and sources by using our own  The Library Search.
 
1. Use the author search  to find books we have by a particular author, politician, journalist or another type of historical witness
 
2.  Do an advanced keyword search in The Library Search and then limit by publication year under “limit your search”) (note:  you can also limit by language and many other ways)
 
3. . Do an advanced keyword in Library Search and then limit by years and then limit to the word  "sources" in the subject field (by using the dropdown menu), for example:

"united states* AND "national park*" and "history" the keyword field

"sources" in the subject field. 
 
(this brings us the Library of Congress Subject subheading “sources” which is sometimes used to designate primary source collections of different kinds — as in National parks and reserves United States History Sources.".

Historic and Present Day Newspapers and Magazines

Other Primary Source Databases

Arts and Humanities Librarian

Adam Rosenkranz's picture
Adam Rosenkranz
Chat requires JavaScript.
Contact:
RTLS Division
The Claremont Colleges Library
909-607-3986 (x73986)
Website