Research Guides: PO Hi 101 Research in Modern U.S. History / Rohr / FA22: Welcome, Selected Databases, and Other Guides

Welcome!

Welcome to the PO HI 101.

This guide is best used as a starting point for your research papers, offering selected secondary and primary source databases, as well as other guides to consult (where you'll find many other databases to explore!) and information on Writing and Citing (particularly using the citation manager, Zotero)

Above all, please know that I (and other librarians) are here to help you!

Selected, Secondary (Mostly Scholarly) Databases

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
The main database for scholarship in US and Canadian History
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database for peer-reviewed journals, newspapers and magazines, and some trade publications.

Advanced Library Search
The Library Search can also be used to find literature and historical sources in Italian or in translation. Use the "Language" and "Location" drop-down menus to limit to language or to a specific location such as Special Collections.

Readers' Guide This link opens in a new window
Citations and links full text of articles from over 250 major popular magazines and periodicals from 1890-present.
New York Times, Historical This link opens in a new window
Full page scans of the newspaper, 1851-2012.
Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. Covers 1960-present
Proquest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to hearings, committee reports, bill files, witness testimony, and more issued by Congress from 1769-present. Full-text is available through 2010, later for some titles. Full-Text Hearings 1824-2010; (CRS) Reports 1916-present, committee prints from 1830-current; Serials Set documents from 1789; the Congressional Record (1969-1994 in print); and Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations, 1789-2017.

Other Research Guides

US History
by Adam Rosenkranz Last Updated Mar 14, 2023 213 views this year
Cultural Studies
by Nazia Islam Last Updated Feb 15, 2023 62 views this year
Chicana/o-Latina/o Studies
by Nazia Islam Last Updated Feb 15, 2023 30 views this year
Gender/ Feminist/ Sexuality/ Women's/ Queer Studies
by Nazia Islam Last Updated Jul 21, 2022 98 views this year
Art & Art History
by Kendra Macomber Last Updated Feb 22, 2023 158 views this year

All Research Guides

Arts and Humanities Librarian

Adam Rosenkranz

Email Me

Contact:

Research, Teaching, & User Services - The Claremont Colleges Library

909 607-3986

Subjects: African History, American Studies, Ancient Greek & Roman History, Arabic, Asian History, Classics, English & Irish History, European History, German, History, Latin American History, Middle Ages & Renaissance History, Middle Eastern / North African History, Philosophy, Russian, Science, Technology, & Society, U.S. History