Library open only to current Claremont Colleges students, faculty, and staff: Tuesday, December 6 - Thursday, December 15. Exceptions include those visiting Bookstore, Cafe, and Special Collections Appointments. More info on Blackout Dates for Community Access.
Getting Started and Resources for Political Philosophy
Sources For Your Assignment
Your assignment will require you to find secondary, scholarly sources to give historical, political and sociological context to the Resistance Movement you have chosen. These may be from the fields of History, Political Science, Sociology and other fields. Below are some databases in those fields. You can also use journalism from an interdisciplinary database such as Academic Search Premier or our numerous current and historical newspaper databases. Philosopher's Index would be good if you wanted to find scholarship in Philosophy supplementary to your course readings.
I've also linked the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy below, which might be helpfulfor understanding particular philosophers, philosophical movements, and concepts. For a fuller offering of more databases, explore other research guides, a selection of which are below.
If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact me (the guy on the right).
Why search here? The main database for finding scholarship in philosophy, including peer-reviewed books .
Content type: Abstracts of scholarly articles, books
Broader than PhilPapers; it covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, epistemology, logic, and metaphysics as well as material on the philosophy of disciplines, such as law, religion, science, history, and education.
Language: English, Spanish, Italian, German, French, Portuguese, Polish, Turkish, etc.