Research Guides: CMC HIST 173 / Global Borderlands / FA23: Welcome and Places to Start Your Research

Your Research for this Class and this Guide

Welcome to the HIST 173 Global Borderlands research guide!

This guide is a starting point for your research project. It offers recommendations for selected primary and secondary resources and databases, a review of research strategies discussed in our research session, as well as a section on Writing and Citing (particularly Zotero). I also include related research guides to find more resources to explore!

Above all, please know that I (and other librarians) are here to help you!

Start here for History: Main Databases for Secondary, Scholary in International History

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Useful for anthropological and historical research concerning the United States and Canada from pre-history to the present.
Content type: Scholarly articles, magazine articles, dissertations, conference proceedings, books
Coverage dates: 1914-present
Language: English, French, Russian, German, Spanish, etc.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Why search here? The main index for scholarship in early modern to present day World History, excluding United States and Canadian history.
Content type: Abstracts of scholarly articles, magazine articles, dissertations and theses, books
Coverage dates: 1953-present
Language: English, French, German, Spanish, etc.
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Find scholarly articles about Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics/Latinos in the U.S.
Content type: Abstracts of scholarly articles
Coverage dates: 1960s-present
Language: English, Spanish, Portuguese, French, German, Italian, Indigenous languages, Creole, etc.
Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Main database for identifying research literature on historical and emerging issues pertinent to the study of Latin America.
Content type: Annotated citations for books, scholarly articles, book chapters, conference papers, maps and atlases, and e-resources
Coverage dates: 1936-present
Language: English, Spanish, Portuguese, French, etc.
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Good for research on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide in Western languages.
Content type: Abstracts, scholarly articles, book chapters, conference proceedings
Coverage dates: 1971-present
Language: English, German, French, Spanish

Mostly Primary Historical, Present Day News Sources, Etc

Readers' Guide This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Good for discovering articles from backfiles of magazines on a variety of subjects that are not indexed elsewhere in one place.
Content type: Magazine articles, scholarly articles
Coverage dates: 1890-present
Updated daily. Most publications are North American popular sources. Searches both Reader's Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 and Reader's Guide Full Text Mega (1983-present).
Language: English
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Good starting point when researching topics that intersect with multiple disciplines.
Content type: Scholarly articles, newspaper articles, magazine articles, trade journal articles
Coverage dates: 1887-present; varies by title
Language: English, Spanish, Russian, Portuguese, Turkish, French, Chinese, Arabic etc.
Keywords: ASP
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Search here for full text articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
Content type: Scholarly articles, newspaper articles, magazine articles, trade journal articles, dissertations and theses, conference proceedings, blogs
Coverage dates: 1959-present
Includes unique community publications as well as top scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies.
Language: English, Spanish, French, etc.
Keywords: News Watch
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Discover news from the top news sources around the world.
Content type: Newspaper articles
Coverage dates: 1980-present
Includes titles such as, The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
Language: English, German, Spanish, Portuguese, French, Urdu‎, etc.
Keywords: News Stream International Newsstand Stand
New York Times (current) This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Search here for the full-text of the current print editions of The New York Times newspaper.
Content type: Newspaper articles
Coverage dates: 1980-present
Excludes website-only content. This subscription is not the same as a subscription to the New York Times website, which is offered to students through some of the 5Cs.
Language: English
Keywords: NYT
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Search here for comprehensive coverage of news and current events, government, business, medical, and legal topics, as well as general reference information.
Content type: Newspaper articles, trade journal articles, broadcast transcripts, financial reports, federal and state case law, medical abstracts, corporate profiles
Coverage dates: 1980-present
Language: English, Spanish, French, Dutch, German, Portuguese
Keywords: Lexis Nexis
Making of the Modern World This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Explore primary sources related to the history of western trade with a focus on the coal, iron, and steel industries, the railway industry, the cotton industry, banking and finance, and the modern corporation.
Content type: Primary sources, eBooks, reports, maps, diagrams, photographs, paintings, etc.
Coverage dates: 1400s-1940s
Additionally, there are sources discussing the history of the working class, the history of slavery and colonization, the labor movement, as well as other topics that relate to and challenge capitalism.
Language: English, French, Spanish, German, Latin, Italian, and other European languages.
National Geographic Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Access articles from a trusted source in journalistic exploration and discovery complete with photographs and maps.
Content type: Magazine articles, images, maps
Coverage dates: 1888-present
Language: English
Keywords: Nat Geo NatGeo

Primary Sources in Library Catalogs

Primary sources of all types can also be found in our regular, circulating books, in special collections, and beyond. Here are few ways to find primary texts and sources by using our own The Library Search.

1. Use the author search to find books we have by a particular author, politician, journalist or another type of historical witness

2. Do an advanced keyword search in The Library Search and then limit by publication year under “limit your search”) (note: you can also limit by language and many other ways)

3. . Do an advanced keyword in Library Search and then limit by years and then limit to the word "sources" in the subject field (by using the dropdown menu), for example

"sources" in the subject field.

(this brings us the Library of Congress Subject subheading “sources” which is sometimes used to designate primary source collections of different kinds — as in "Sino-Indian Border Dispute, 1957- History Sources

Other Research Guides

African History
by Adam Rosenkranz Aug 31, 2023 136 views this year
Asian History
by Adam Rosenkranz Aug 31, 2023 205 views this year
European History
by Adam Rosenkranz Aug 31, 2023 246 views this year
Latin American History
by Adam Rosenkranz Aug 31, 2023 277 views this year
Middle Eastern / North African History
by Adam Rosenkranz Aug 31, 2023 118 views this year
U.S. History
by Adam Rosenkranz Oct 26, 2023 1006 views this year
Politics
by Dieter Mackenbach Sep 29, 2023 164 views this year
Data & Statistics
by Mary Martin Sep 29, 2023 569 views this year

All Research Guides

Arts and Humanities Librarian

Adam Rosenkranz

Email Me

Contact:

Research, Teaching, & User Services - The Claremont Colleges Library

909 607-3986

Subjects: American Studies, Classics / Ancient Studies & Late Antique-Medieval Studies, European Studies, German, History, Languages & Literatures, Late Antique-Medieval Studies, Latin American Studies, Middle Eastern / North African Studies, Philosophy, Russian, Science, Technology, & Society, U.S. History