Skip to Main Content
The Library is open for students, staff, and faculty of The Claremont Colleges, as well as community card holders. Masks are required and eating is not permitted. See COVID-19 Services and Updates for more information.

CMC HIST 114 Race and Racism in the Colonial Americas Prof. Livesay - SP 2022

Your Research for this Class and this Guide

Hello!  Welcome to the Research Guide Race and Racism in the Colonial Americas!  The main purpose of this guide is to help you find primary and secondary sources as you research the historical figure / commenration  you have chosen as the subject of your paper.  This page includes the secondary and primary databases for researching both the historical figures and controversies that might have surrounded them when they lived. A second box includes both primary and secondary databases for researching controversies about controversies surrounding these figures during our own time.  Please keep in mind that this is a place to start -- use the subject research guides below as a way to find other primary source databases.  Do not hesitate to email me (or other librarians) or make an appointment.

Start here for History: Main Databases for Secondary, Scholary in American and Latin American History

Then: Primary, Historical Sources

Now (or thereabouts): Researching the Reputation of Historical Figures During Our Time (both secondary and primary)

Primary Sources in Library Catalogs

Primary sources of all types can also be found in our regular, circulating books, in special collections, and beyond.  Here are few ways to find primary texts and sources by using our own  The Library Search.
 
1. Use the author search  to find books we have by a particular author, politician, journalist or another type of historical witness
 
2.  Do an advanced keyword search in The Library Search and then limit by publication year under “limit your search”) (note:  you can also limit by language and many other ways)
 
3. . Do an advanced keyword in Library Search and then limit by years and then limit to the word  "sources" in the subject field (by using the dropdown menu), for example:

"colonial america* AND Slave*" inn the keyword field

"sources" in the subject field. 
 
(this brings us the Library of Congress Subject subheading “sources” which is sometimes used to designate primary source collections of different kinds — as in "Slavery--Political aspects--United States--History--18th century--Sources".
 
Another sample search:  "Thomas Jefferson" and "sources" in the subject field
 
 

Arts and Humanities Librarian

Profile Photo
Adam Rosenkranz
Contact:
Research, Teaching, & User Services - The Claremont Colleges Library
909 607-3986
Website