Skip to main content

Library Search: Overview and FAQ

This guide provides answers to frequently asked questions as well as tips and tricks. Get to know your new library!

New Library System Overview

Welcome to the library's catalog: Library Search! Our system allows for an enhanced user experience through added features such as:

  • One inclusive search of the library's catalogs, our most popular databases and subscriptions, as well as resources from libraries around the world!
  • Streamlined resource sharing for expanded access to local, regional, and global resources.
  • Improved library account including online access to renew books borrowed through the Claremont Colleges Library as well as Resource Sharing.
  • Updated and modern interface for a more friendly library experience.

Please feel free to contact us with questions you may have regarding our system enhancements at LibrarySRT@cuc.claremont.edu

How do I use Search Indexes in my Library Search?

How do I use Search Indexes in my Library Search?

You can use shortcuts when entering words or phrases into the Library Search to help search by indexes such as author, title, subject, etc. This is a list of some most frequently used shortcuts!

How do I find a specific item using the Library Search?

What databases am I searching within this new system?

What databases am I searching within this new system?

By using our main search box, you are searching the Claremont Colleges catalog, our most popular databases and subscriptions, as well as libraries worldwide.

How do I limit my results to Claremont Colleges holdings only?

How do I limit my results to Claremont Colleges holdings only?

Before you conduct a search:

To limit your search to CCL holdings only, click on the Advanced Search, then change the location in the box on the bottom of the page from "Libraries Worldwide" to "The Claremont Colleges." This will limit your search to items here on campus (including Denison, Special Collections, and the Pacific Basin Institute).

After you conduct a search:

To limit your search to CCL holdings only, use the location filter on the left-hand side of the screen, and check the box for The Claremont Colleges. If you want to scope more narrowly to Honnold/Mudd, Special Collections, etc., check that appropriate box instead.

The video below demonstrates how to use the Library Search's Advanced Features, including limiting to the Claremont Colleges:

How do I get to the journals and/or databases list?

How do I get to the journals and/or databases list?

The links for our Electronic Journals and Databases are now found directly under our main search box:

The below video demonstrates how to access the full database list through the Library's website:

How do I renew my books?

How do I renew my books?

I'm not a current Claremont Colleges faculty or student (i.e. alumni, community members, etc.). How do I renew my library materials?

I'm not a current Claremont Colleges faculty or student (i.e. alumni, community members, etc.) How do I renew my library materials?

At this time, non-current library patrons can renew their materials by emailing the library at LibraryUSERS@cuc.claremont.edu or calling our Main Services Desk during open hours using this phone number: (909) 621 - 8150.

How do I request a locally held item for Faculty Delivery?

How do I request a locally held item for Faculty Delivery?

Faculty and Staff can use the "Request Item" to request items owned by Claremont Colleges to be pulled and placed on Hold. Items can be delivered to faculty mailrooms as well. Simply choose the preferred delivery option when submitted your request through Resource Sharing (ILL):

   

How do I request an item not held at the Claremont Colleges Library?