Skip to main content

SOC 102: Qualitative Research Methods: Finding Resources

This guide will help students understand the components of research, especially what it means to construct and deconstruct a citation.

Search Books & Articles at the Claremont Colleges Library and Beyond

 

Browse Electronic Journals

Use the Library's Electronic Journals Portal to search for individual journal titles  or browse our list of subscriptions by clicking on the "Browse" tab. 

Finding Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Articles

When you want to find articles about topics in your area of interest, use the databases for that subject. Databases are search engines for journal articles, newspaper articles, book reviews, dissertations, and (sometimes) gray literature on specific topics or disciplines.

Most databases are subject- or discipline-specific, but don't forget to try out databases that search across disciplines in order to maximize your ability to find materials. Examples of interdisciplinary databases are Academic Search Premier and JSTOR.  Lots of things we'll own online, but for the things we do not own online, make sure to place a request for that item through Resource Sharing

Starting Your Research

Starting Your Research Tutorial
This is a tutorial that will introduce you to various library resources and skills.

The Information Cycle

Inquiry

Finding Full Text from a Citation

You can find the full text of many articles, chapters, and books by searching their titles in the Library Search

If you cannot find an article this way,  search for the journal title in the Electronic Journals List and browse your way to the article

Discipline-Specific Databases

Other Databases

Librarian

Social Sciences Team's picture
Social Sciences Team

Need Research Help?

phone icon Call Us:
909-607-3959
mobile icon Text Us:
909-430-1495
email icon Email Us:
7C email form
Twitter icon Follow Us:
@honnoldlibrary
Facebook icon Like Us:
Honnold/Mudd Library
phone icon IM Us:
librarianchat

 

Chat requires JavaScript.
 

 

♦ Contact the librarian with expertise in your research area.

♦ Talk with a librarian during drop-in reference hours.

♦ Discover resources and tools to aid your research in subject research guides.