Skip to main content

Library Quick Start Guide for Students

Welcome to the Claremont Colleges Library! Use this guide to get oriented and learn the basics of what the library has to offer.

Getting started

If you are new to conducting research:
Consider reviewing the Starting Your Research tutorial to learn the phases and processes of doing research.

To find books or articles we own, or to see what we have on a particular topic, use the Library Search at the library's website:

  • To search by title, add ti: to the beginning of your search
    • ti:to kill a mockingbird
  • To search by topic, enter the topic in the search
    • examples: prison reform, renewable energy
  • Use the filters on the left-side of the results page to narrow down what you're looking for

Start your research with these key interdisciplinary resources:

Need Research Help?

Email: Get your research questions answered. We’ll get back to you before the end of the next business day.

Phone:

Main Services Desk (for questions about your library account or other facilities or access questions):

(909) 621-8150

Research, Teaching, and Learning Services: (909) 607-3959

Asian Library: (909) 607-3970

Special Collections: (909) 607-3977

 

In person:

Make a research appointment with a librarian. Choose an appointment with a subject librarian or at a time that is most convenient.

Or drop by between 10 a.m. -1 p.m. to talk to a trained Student Assisted Research Support peer.

 

Chat:

Use the chat widget on the Ask Us page of the library's website to chat with a trained Student Assisted Research Support peer.

Using the Claremont Colleges Library

As a current student at The Claremont Colleges, your library card is your college ID. Use it in the library to check out books and other materials.

To print in the library, use the 10-digit ID number on your ID card without dashes. To sign into all other library resources, including our website, Resource Sharing and our databases, use your single user sign-on.

 

 

 

 

We also have lots of services and spaces to make your studying productive:

  • Use our digital library resources to do research off campus- in fact, from anywhere in the world that you have internet access.
  • Use our group study rooms for group projects and quiet study areas when you are working by yourself.
  • Check out our movies and music. DVDs, CDs, and headphones can be checked out. There is a media viewing room on Honnold 3 with a DVD player that can play international DVDs.
  • Write on our mobile white boards throughout the library. You can check out markers and erasers from the Main Services Desk.
  • Fit in some fun reading. The Braxton Collection on Mudd 2 offers contemporary fiction and non-fiction. Not available in the Library's collections? Through Resource Sharing you have access to fun reading from libraries across the United States.
  • Sign up for a workshop or attend a drop-in clinic to learn how to master your favorite research tools.

Frequently Used Links

Affiliated Libraries

The collections of several affiliated libraries and reading rooms are also available to students and faculty of The Claremont Colleges.

  • Denison Library, 1090 Columbia Ave.
    Located on the Scripps College campus, Denison is a special collections library focusing on the book arts and Women's Studies. Collections are included in the library's catalog and can be found with Library Search.
  • Rancho Santa Ana Botanic Garden Library, 1500 N. Dartmouth Ave.
    A research collection focused on botany, horticulture, California natural history, and the ethnobotany of southwestern North America and California. Materials may only be used in the library. Collections are included in the library's catalog and can be found with Library Search.

In addition, a listing of departments and institutions of the Claremont Colleges with their own libraries can be found in research guide on Departmental and Institutional Libraries of the Claremont Colleges.

Profile

Rebecca Halpern's picture
Rebecca Halpern
Contact:
RTLS North
Claremont Colleges Library
800 N Dartmouth Ave
Claremont, CA 91711
909-607-1822
Subjects:Education, Sociology