7C email form
Please chat back later, or send us an email with your question.
♦ Contact the librarian with expertise in your research area.
♦ Talk with a librarian during scheduled reference hours.
♦ Discover resources and tools to aid your research in subject research guides.
♦ You can use most library resources (databases, ebooks, online journals, etc.) to do research off campus--in fact, from anywhere in the world that you have internet access. Find out more.
♦ The Library has group study rooms, quiet study areas, you can check out.
♦ There is wireless connectivity for your laptop throughout the Library.
♦ The Library has movies and music. DVDs and CDs can be checked out. Headphones can be checked out, and there is a video viewing room in Honnold/Mudd.
♦ Honnold/Mudd has mobile white boards. And you can check out markers and erasers.
♦ Honnold/Mudd has lockers, which you can check out and store your stuff in.
♦ The Library has fun reading. The Braxton Collection offers contemporary fiction and non-fiction. Not available in the Library's collections? Through Resource Sharing you have access to fun reading from libraries across the United States.
We hope that your experiences using library resources and services, whether in the library buildings or from the library web site, will be both successful and rewarding.
Quick Guide to Searching for Information:
To find materials owned by the library use Library Search, which is the catalog for The Claremont Colleges Library. This catalog includes books, government documents, maps, videotapes, sound recordings, music scores and many other types of materials. It also lists collections of manuscripts, correspondence, photographs, and records of organizations, but they do not list individual items in those collections.
You can also use Library Search or an article database or index to find magazine, journal, or newspaper articles. Many of these databases cover books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference proceedings as well as articles; they can often help you find all the relevant materials for your research in one place.
As a current student at one of The Colleges, you already have your library card--it's your college ID. Use it in the library to check out books and other materials.
When you access some of our online services (Interlibrary Loan, etc.), and when you connect to resources from off campus, you'll be asked to enter your name and your 10-digit ID number. The number on your college ID card looks like this:
123456789 - 3
When you enter that number to authenticate for library services and resources, be sure to include all 10 digits, with no spaces and no dash -- like this:
The Library offers drop-in workshops on many research-related topics, from Zotero to Library Bootcamp.
View the upcoming workshop schedule and sign-up below.