Special Collections, Honnold/Mudd Library
Special Collections, Honnold/Mudd Library, holds unique and rare collections that are available to the students, faculty, and staff of the various Claremont institutions, and to scholars, researchers, and members of the community.
Special Collections materials are available by appointment, or if the materials are located in Honnold/Mudd, they are available during Reading Room Hours. Some of our collections require either advance notice or a waiting period, and visitors coming from a distance should give a week’s notice of their arrival. Please note that our hours vary during semester breaks.
- Hours
- Pictures & ConversationsSpecial Collections blog: Pictures & Conversations is an online cabinet of curiosities featuring selections from the compelling image, text, and document collections in the special collections at the Libraries of The Claremont Colleges. Curated by staff at Honnold/Mudd Library Special Collections and Denison Library, this blog serves as an enjoyable way to highlight the wonderful range of collections we have and to share news about new collections. .
On another note
About Carrie Marsh
- Lead and manage the services and staff of Special Collections in Honnold/Mudd Library
- Collaborate with faculty on instruction with Special Collections materials and work with students on their research projects
- Develop the collections, which includes working with the development staffs at The Colleges and with donors
- Identify funding sources and write grants for collections care, digitization, processing, and cataloging
- Plan, organize, and mount exhibitions of Special Collections materials in the library and in other venues.
Educational background:
- Master's in Library Science, The University of Arizona
- M.A. in English Literature, Central Michigan University
- B.A. in English and Art History, Central Michigan University
Professional memberships:
- American Library Association
- Association of College and Research Libraries, Rare Books and Manuscripts Section
- Society of California Archivists
- Zamorano Club
Other interests:
Collecting Bloomsbury Group artists and writers; studying 18th century Britain; reading genre and speculative fiction and AUs; knitting; vegetarian cooking; traveling.
Digitized Special Collections
Some of our special collections have been digitized and are available for online research in the Claremont Colleges Digital Library. Finding aids to some of our manuscript and personal papers collections are included in the Online Archive of California.
Other Special Collections in Claremont
Denison Library, Scripps College, has extensive Special Collections
including the Scripps College Archives, the Macpherson Collection (materials
on the history of women), collections of western Americana, and the Rare
Book Room which holds collections of rare books, fine bindings, contemporary
fine printing and other book arts. These collections are meant to
be actively used by students as well as by more advanced researchers.
For more information telephone 909-621-8973.
Carrie Marsh |
Contact Info Special Collections, Honnold/Mudd Library 800 N. Dartmouth Ave. Claremont, CA 91711 909.607.3977 Send Email |


Loading...
