Special Collections, Honnold/Mudd Library
Special Collections, Honnold/Mudd Library, holds unique and rare collections of books, literary and historical manuscripts, and other primary sources that are available to the students, faculty, and staff of the various Claremont institutions, and to scholars, researchers, and members of the community.
Special Collections materials are available by appointment, or if the materials are located in Honnold/Mudd, they are available during Reading Room Hours. Some of our collections require either advance notice or a waiting period, and visitors coming from a distance should give a week’s notice of their arrival. Please note that our hours vary during semester breaks.
On another note
About Carrie Marsh
Director of Special Collections & Libraries
- Provides leadership, vision and management for Special Collections and the Asian Library
- Establishes effective partnerships within the Library, The Claremont Colleges, and the wider community to realize SC&L’s and Library’s mission and vision.
- Develops and prioritizes goals within the Library’s strategic planning process; advocates for SC&L in the Library’s strategic planning.
- Develops and implements strategies for the growth and sustainability of the Claremont Center for Engagement with Primary Sources (CCEPS).
- Provides advanced reference services
- Develops and implements strategies that sustain and expand the collections of SC&L, building on existing strengths and in accordance with the history, mission, and curriculum of The Claremont Colleges
- Master's in Library Science, The University of Arizona
- M.A. in English Literature, Central Michigan University
- B.A. in English and Art History, Central Michigan University
- American Library Association
- Association of College and Research Libraries, Rare Books and Manuscripts Section
- Society of California Archivists
- Zamorano Club
- Book Club of California
- California Rare Book School Advisory Board
I collect books by/about the Bloomsbury Group of artists and writers especially Hogarth Press books.
Other Special Collections in Claremont
Denison Library, Scripps College, has extensive Special Collections
including the Scripps College Archives, the Macpherson Collection (materials
on the history of women), collections of western Americana, and the Rare
Book Room which holds collections of rare books, fine bindings, contemporary
fine printing and other book arts. These collections are meant to
be actively used by students as well as by more advanced researchers.
For more information telephone 909-621-8973.