BiologyChemistryComputer ScienceEngineeringMathematicsPhysics
This is the "General" page of the "Pitzer Career Services" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Pitzer Career Services  

Last Updated: Jul 21, 2014 URL: http://libguides.libraries.claremont.edu/pitzercareer Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

General Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Need Research Help?

phone icon Call Us:
909-607-3959
mobile icon Text Us:
909-430-1495
email icon Email Us:
7C email form
Twitter icon Follow Us:
@honnoldlibrary
Facebook icon Like Us:
Honnold/Mudd Library
phone icon IM Us:
librarianchat

Chat requires JavaScript.

 

♦ Contact the librarian with expertise in your research area.

♦ Talk with a librarian during scheduled reference hours.

♦ Discover resources and tools to aid your research in subject research guides.

 

Top 5 Majors

This guide focuses on the top majors from Pitzer as noted in US News & World Report and additional majors noted as important by the Pitzer Career Center. For any major not listed, check out this page.

Top 5 Majors (2012) Percentage
Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other 10%
English Language and Literature, General 8%
Psychology, General 8%
Environmental Studies 6%
Political Science and Government 6%

See also our Career Guide for Harvey Mudd and Career Guide for CMC which includes books and resources for the most popular majors at these schools.

 

Books

Caveat! Here, and for all subject areas, our career books can sometimes be out-of-date. To find current and even more books on a subject, search Link+ for books around So Cal and the Southwest. If you find a book you like from Link+ request it with your name and 10-Digit ID#. Books from Link+ arrive in about two days and are available for pick-up at Honnold Library.

Vocational Guidance Books in Link+

Cover Art
Career Match - Shoya Zichy; Ann Bidou
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 9780814473641
Publication Date: 2007-02-09
For some, a job is just a way to pay the bills. For others - those whose careers fit their passions and personalities - it is a source of great satisfaction and success. Career Match is designed to help people discover their ideal work. Using the author's revealing ten-minute self-assessment, the book helps readers determine their personality style, then walks them through the range of career choices best for them. This indispensable guide will enable anyone to: * identify the type of work that will inspire and exhilarate them * recognize the type of boss and work environment they need to thrive * confirm the rightness of the path they are on - or help them find a better one * speed up their job search The book includes in-depth chapters for each personality type, detailed explanations of career options, and inspiring real-life stories of people who have found fulfillment in work that suits their personality. This invaluable resource will help anyone in need of direction match who they are with what they should do - for a lifetime of gratifying work and greater success.

Cover Art
Career Opportunities in the Nonprofit Sector
Call Number: HD2769.2.U6 B87 2006 REF
ISBN: 0816060037
Publication Date: 2006-04-01
A nonprofit organization can be defined as any organization that has been granted tax exemption status by the Internal Revenue Service. Approximately 13 million Americans are employed in the nonprofit sector with the Bureau of Labor Statistics predicting a 10 percent increase by 2010. Job seekers with diverse interests can apply their strengths in the nonprofit sector and earn a good living doing so. Career Opportunities in the Nonprofit Sector educates readers about the diversity of opportunities in nonprofits and provides practical and useful information about possible career paths and job titles, covering more than 70 jobs. Representing more than 10 different industries and hundreds of job functions, opportunities abound for those skilled in research, writing, mathematics, and more. Extensive appendixes include lists of schools, organizations, publications, and further resources. Careers profiled include *Community developer *Curator *Director of development *Director of volunteers *Grant writer *Health policy analyst *International aid worker *Librarian *Program officer *Publications manager *Social worker *Student activities coordinator *Zoologist *and more.

Cover Art
From Scarcity to Visibility
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 0309055806
Publication Date: 2001-11-13
Although women have made important inroads in science and engineering since the early 1970s, their progress in these fields has stalled over the past several years. This study looks at women in science and engineering careers in the 1970s and 1980s, documenting differences in career outcomes between men and women and between women of different races and ethnic backgrounds.This book explores the following questions and their policy implications: In what sectors are female Ph.D.s employed? What salary disparities exist between men and women in these fields? How is marital status associated with career attainment? Does it help a career to have a postdoctoral appointment? How well are female scientists and engineers represented in management?Within the broader context of education and the labor market, the book provides detailed comparisons between men and women Ph.D.s in a number of measures: financial support for education, academic rank achieved, salary, and others. The study covers engineering; the mathematical, physical, life, and social and behavioral sciences; medical school faculty; and recipients of National Institutes of Health grants.

Web Links

Career Information Databases

  • Hoovers  Icon
    Directory and financial information about over 12 million companies and 600 industries. Search for companies by industry, geography, personnel, earnings and more.
  • Lexis Nexis Academic  Icon
    Make sure you're using one of the "Companies" modules. Access company dossiers and compare copanies as well as see recruiting profiles.
  • Market Research  Icon
    Full-text market research reports covering industries in eight major areas: business services; consumer goods; demographics; food & beverage; heavy industry; life sciences; public sector; and technology and media.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip