Contains citations with abstracts to articles and reviews in physics, electrical and elctronics engineering, computing and control, and information technology.
•Provides access to citations with abstracts to articles and reviews in Physics, Electrical and Electronics Engineering, Computing and Control, and Information Technology.
•Great for research in the applied sciences.
•THE database for physics, electronics and computing.
covers highly used and highly cited scholarly materials in science back to 1908. Web of Science also indexes the social science and arts and humanities, making it a great tool for finding scholarly materials across multiple disciplines.
•Provides access to scholarly science, social science, and arts and humanities journal article citations, with "Get this item" links to fulltext.
•Sciences citation index: 1900-present
•Social sciences citation index: 1956-present
•Arts and humanities citation index: 1997-present
•Great for finding the most important (heavily cited) articles in the sciences and social sciences. Can also be used to find articles citing a known important work on your topic, or related to it based on shared citations.
•Help using this database is available.
Google's searching across scholarly journals and books, and is great for searching across multiple disciplines.
•Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
•Orders your search results by relevance.
Provides searching of IEEE transactions, journals, magazines, and conference proceedings and all current IEEE standards.
•Provides searching of IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE Standards.
•Index access to the core conference proceedings and IEEE journals from 1998 to the present.
The E-print Network is . . .
. . . a vast, integrated network of electronic scientific and technical information created by scientists and research engineers active in their respective fields, all full-text searchable. E-print Network is intended for use by other scientists, engineers, and students at advanced levels.
. . . a gateway to over 35,300 websites and databases worldwide, containing over 5.5 million e-prints in basic and applied sciences, primarily in physics but also including subject areas such as chemistry, biology and life sciences, materials science, nuclear sciences and engineering, energy research, computer and information technologies, and other disciplines of interest to DOE. We hope the E-print Network proves valuable to you in supporting your research initiatives.
"ECD includes scientific and technical research results in disciplines of interest to DOE such as chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, computer science and related disciplines. It includes bibliographic citations to report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents."
2,500 full text articles on astronomy and astrophysics.
•Provides access to 2,500 full text articles on Astronomy and Astrophysics.
•Contains many up-to-date current events and news articles related to discoveries and research in the fields of Astronomy and Astrophysics.
•Has a Workgroup feature which allows students to create a workspace and share materials with one another.
•Contains extensive linking to other, related electronic resources.
•Users can personalize this resource through the 'My EAA' feature.
"ComPADRE, part of the National Science Digital Library http://nsdl.org/ (CH, Sup'05,42Sup-0494), is a partnership of the American Association of Physics Teachers, the American Astronomical Society, the American Institute of Physics/Society of Physics Students, and the American Physical Society. ComPADRE's goal is to steward high-quality digital resources in physics/astronomy education. The site's collections provide tips, techniques/manuals, and equipment for the laboratory experience; classifieds for equipment sought; resources and support for K-20 instructors/teachers; and simulations, curriculum, and computational tools. The collections also offer resources for education research; a community portal for undergraduates, including summer research and scholarship opportunities and textbook reviews; and Web-, monograph-, and journal-based resources for learning and exploring physics/astronomy. Each collection has its own look and internal navigation.
The collections can be browsed from the main Web page by categories: K-12 Teacher, College Faculty, Student, Educational Research, and Interested in Physics. One can search the entire site using a simple keyword search or conduct an advanced search, which allows limits based on subject, cost, resource type, and target level and role. Individual resources within each category note the intended academic levels and audience, and similar materials are identified and linked together. Not all resources are freely available, but access rights and restrictions are clearly noted. Users who create accounts on the comPADRE site may rate and comment on the various resources and participate in discussion boards. They can also make folders in a personal filing cabinet to store bookmarks to resources. ComPADRE is an important Web portal/database for both teachers and learners, and it more than fulfills its goal of offering high-quality resources in physics/astronomy." Choice, July 2009.
This exhibit traces the development of the atomic age from the discovery of radioactivity in the late 1800s to the close of the Cold War near the end of the twentieth century. In so doing, the exhibit discusses the scientific, political and cultural ramifications of nuclear energy while at the same time acting as a learning curriculum for those interested in furthering their studies of the era. The exhibit narrative and images have been developed through extensive use of the History of Atomic Energy Collection at Oregon State University Libraries Special Collections.
"The American Physical Society's Committee on the Status of Women in Physics and its Forum on the History of Physics cosponsored development of the archive...in 1999... This site contains guides to the archive, a search engine, "fascinating documents" (a mixture of obituaries, scientific treatises, and correspondence), a few unrefereed articles on the history of women in physics, quotations, and a database of reference books and journal articles... Most of the site...is devoted to the 86 women from subfields such as astrophysics, atomic physics, crystallography, education, fluid dynamics, mathematical physics, and nuclear physics. Physicists profiled include Marie Curie, Helen Edwards, Shirley Jackson, Maria Mayer, and Vera Rubin. Each biography page contains a photograph of the physicist, her major contributions and publications, honors, employment, education, additional information, and recommended reading. Factual information is brief but correct." (Choice Reviews online, July 2007)
"This comprehensive open-access encyclopedia, authored by Dr. Rüdiger Paschotta and provided by RP Photonics Consulting GmbH, explains the terms and principles of laser physics and technology. It also has a lot of content from other topics such as general optics and optoelectronics, nonlinear optics, quantum optics, fiber optics, ultrashort pulses, and optical communications."
HyperPhysics is an exploration environment for concepts in physics which employs concept maps and other linking strategies to facilitate smooth navigation. For the most part, it is laid out in small segments or "cards", true to its original development in HyperCard. The entire environment is interconnected with thousands of links, reminiscent of a neural network.
"The International Nuclear Information System (INIS), the world's largest database of nuclear scientific/technical literature, covers a broad range of subjects in the areas of nuclear engineering, safeguards, and nonproliferation. The database contains over three million bibliographic citations and abstracts in 63 languages from a wide range of publications. Included are journal articles (13,500-plus journal titles are indexed), scientific/technical reports, conference papers, books, patents, theses, laws, regulations/standards, and Web documents. INIS has over 200,000 full-text documents (many are not readily available elsewhere). Institutions with subscriptions to the database's electronic journals can access the full text of journal articles via DOI (digital object identifier) links. The database was made available free to all Internet users in April 2009. Plans are to add 100,000 new records annually.
The INIS database is fast, intuitive, and very easy to use. A Google-like search box gives users the option of limiting to full text only and customizing the number of search results that display. Advanced searching and combining queries are also possibilities. The main screen features other useful information, including Recent Statistics and Predefined Queries, with subject distribution for the newest uploads, and numbers of new journal articles, along with the journals in which they most frequently appear. Search results include the document title and can be expanded to a full citation for an individual entry or for all records on the result screen. Creating a free profile enables a user to store queries. Records may be printed or exported to HTML, tab-delimited text, formatted text, XML, or MS Excel, and citations downloaded to bibliographic management software. An excellent addition is the INIS Multilingual Thesaurus in all the official languages of the International Atomic Energy Agency: Arabic, Chinese, English, German, French, Russian, and Spanish." from Choice June, 2010.
"The types of light sources covered in this Web site are accelerator- and synchrotron-based "sources of exceptionally intense, tightly focused beams of x-rays and ultraviolet radiation, as well as infrared, that make possible both basic and applied research in fields from physics to biology to technology." Many governmental, nonprofit, and educational scientific laboratories throughout the world contribute to LightSources.org. The site's main page lists four major sections: Learn about Light Sources, Light Source News, Light Source Science, and For Light Source Users. There are duplicate links to some of the information in these sections on the left side of the screen. Undergraduate students will benefit from the light source primers and links to educational materials. For graduate students, the list of conferences and the links to the technical publications of the supporting agencies are informative. One can subscribe to the site's news flashes by e-mail or through an RSS reader. LightSources.org also contains an Image Bank with basic search options.
In general, however, the site needs some updating. For example, the biographies in the Case Study Series section under Light Sources Research are interesting, but this page has not been updated in over a year. There are dead links in both the Journals section (e.g., Nature Publishing Group, ACS Publications, ISI Web of Science) and the Publishers section (e.g., CARL, BioMedNet). Additionally, some information in the Reference Sources section is dated or unavailable. The Electron Microscopy glossary from the University of Nebraska at Lincoln is from 1995, and the link to Life Science cannot be found. Most pages do not list an author, but users can contact the Webmaster with questions or comments. Overall, this site is useful but would benefit by some regular maintenance and updating." Choice April, 2010.
"NanoScienceWorks.org serves the nano community as a gateway to the news, journals, books, and articles that support and drive nano research and development. We invite you to explore these resources, view our slidecasts, and join our networking database of nano-involved people and institutions from around the world."
"Published and owned by Nanowerk LLC, the Nanowerk site is a very comprehensive and educational nanotechnology/nanoscience portal. It delivers very current news and information that is rich in scope and content. The well-organized home page, with sections titled Databases, News, Nanobusiness, Resources, and Introduction to Nanotechnology, provides clear links to the site's content. A free, searchable Nanomaterial Database provides information on more than 1,900 materials, and a Company and Labs Directory offers more than 3,000 links. Also available are a conference calendar, video library, free industry reports, periodical directory, and book lists linked to Amazon.com. A site map, search box feature, and easy navigation scheme mean that users can locate information quickly. The site also offers a Spotlight feature article, an encyclopedia, blogs, quizzes, career center, and Nanotalk community forum."
"This is the official Web site of the National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL), a laboratory of the US Department of Energy, Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy. NREL's main focus is research and development in renewable energy and energy efficiency, as well as in technology transfer. The site has an easy-to-navigate design. For example, it contains useful, clearly visible navigation tools such as the search box, a site map, and a link to contact information complete with phone numbers and addresses. The site incorporates Web 2.0 tools including RSS news feeds and the ability to follow the site via Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube.
A series of blue tabs across the top of the screen divides the site into sections: About NREL, Energy Analysis, Science and Technology, Technology Transfer, and Applying Technologies. Under each tab are brief descriptions about NREL's activities in each area along with links to more detailed information. A section titled Learning about Renewables, with a listing of resources for secondary school and college students, appears after a user clicks on one of the former sections. Related news and events are listed on the sidebar of some pages. The site offers detailed information about NREL's research areas, such as advanced fuels and vehicles research and geothermal energy. Other useful resources include the Photographic Information eXchange (PIX), GIS maps and data, and a searchable publications database containing various documents (technical reports, conference papers, books, articles, etc.) from 1977 to the present. The NREL Web site is an important resource for anyone doing research or wanting to learn more about renewable energy and energy efficiency." from Choice June, 2010.
"Physics Education is a subset page of the Physical Resources section of the American Institute Physics (AIP) Web site; AIP is a not-for-profit entity that promotes the "advancement and diffusion of the knowledge of physics." Physics Education aims to promote the "highest-quality science education for all students." This includes promoting improvements in undergraduate physics education, increasing the number and backgrounds of physics students, offering resources and online networking opportunities for undergraduate physics students, and working to enhance education for future science teachers.
The site is divided into three main sections: Students, Educators, and Academic Resources. The Students section provides links to the Society of Physics Students (SPS) and Sigma Pi Sigma, both AIP entities. This section also links to The Nucleus, which provides resources for physics and astronomy students, and Gradschoolshopper, a search tool for locating master's and doctoral programs in the physical sciences, engineering, and related fields. The Education section provides resources for preparing future K-12 physics educators and for the recruiting and retention of physics students, along with access to educational software. The Academic Resources section links to the Jobs section of PhysicsToday.org, which offers an employment database for graduating physics students and other career tools. The only drawback of AIP's Physics Education site is that it is not visually inviting. It is a simple page of links, but the individual sections are easily discernible." from Choice, May 2009
"Physics to Go, a product of the American Physical Society, is a unit of the ComPADRE Digital Library http://www.compadre.org/ (CH, Jul'09, 46-6261). The site is both a biweekly online "mini-magazine" and a collection of more than 800 searchable and browsable Web sites, with several links to resources that allow users to learn physics through games, Webcasts, and classroom activities. For anyone interested in learning about the physical universe, the site is a veritable treasure trove of information and an excellent resource for exploration.
The main page is divided into major sections: Physics in Your World, From Physics Research, Physics at Home, and Worth a Look. Archives go back to 2006, when the magazine first began publication. Search options are quite good. Users can search just Physics to Go or the entire ComPADRE site using keywords or the advanced search option. Advanced searching allows users to limit searches by content, grade level, or audience (e.g., student, parent, teacher). Physics to Go also encourages visitors to register for free and contribute to discussions, recommend content, and organize information retrieved in a "personal filing cabinet." There is no end to the information about Earth's physical surroundings that one can glean from Physics to Go; it covers everything of current interest, including the latest developments in research. The site is well organized and up-to-date and contains excellent graphics; the information provided is reliable, and navigation is easy. It is a wonderful resource for undergraduate students of physics." from Choice March 2010.
Produced by the Institute of Physics, this is a great source for job listings, conference information and news on all topics of physics. A resource page links to exercises, reference materials, organizations as well as physics humor.
Scholarpedia is an open access source for articles in the fields of computational neuroscience, dynamical systems, computational intelligence, physics and astrophysics. "Scholarpedia feels and looks like Wikipedia -- the free encyclopedia that anyone can edit. Indeed, both are powered by the same program -- MediaWiki. Both allow visitors to review and modify articles simply by clicking on the edit this article link.
However, Scholarpedia differs from Wikipedia in some very important ways:
Each article is written by an expert (elected by the public or invited by Scholarpedia editors).
Each article is anonymously peer reviewed to ensure accurate and reliable information.
Each article has a curator -- typically its author -- who is responsible for its content."
Any modification of the article needs to be approved by the curator before it appears in the final, approved version.
"'Science.gov searches over 36 databases and 1,850 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.' Content is provided by 13 federal agencies including the National Science Foundation, Department of Agriculture, and the Environmental Protection Agency.
The site offers both basic keyword and advanced search options. Searching across one or all 12 topics yields ranked results that are clustered by subtopic or date, have links to Wikipedia, and may be sorted by date, title, or author. A summary of all results ranks the sources used in the search. Refining the search, limiting the results, or creating an alert is available from the results page. In addition to searching the entire site for documents, users can explore selected science Web sites from the home page. Sites are selected by information specialists/librarians, and each component is regularly updated. The subject categories on the home page provide links to a wide variety of sites. The main page also includes featured searches and Web sites and links to special collections, including special terminology and thesauri from sources such as DTIC, MeSH, USGS, ERIC, and DOE." from Choice, April 2009
"ScienceBlogs provides access to more than 70 blogs by selected leading bloggers from a wide variety of scientific disciplines. The scope is quite broad; topics range from women in science to bisphenol A. ScienceBlogs was launched in January 2006 by Seed Media Group, which also publishes the scientific magazine Seed. Seed Media Group was founded in 2005 by Adam Bly (formerly, National Research Council of Canada). Bloggers are selected 'based on their originality, insight, talent, and dedication.' Selected bloggers include professors in scientific disciplines, a freelance science journalist, and more. ScienceBlogs staff do not edit the bloggers' work.
Excellent site organization enables users to easily browse or search for blogs, which are organized by ten channels of content: Life Science, Physical Science, Environment, Humanities and Social Science, Education and Careers, Politics, Medicine and Health, Brain and Behavior, Technology, and Last 24 Hours (most recent posts). Special features include Top 5 Readers' Picks, direct links to the science news section of The New York Times online, RSS feeds including 'ScienceBlogs posts analyzing peer-reviewed journal articles,' e-mail notification of specific blogs or channels, Page 3.14 Editorial Musings, Ask a Science Blogger, and ScienceBlogs Weekly Recap (a newsletter that can be mailed to users' inboxes). The site loads fairly quickly and features only a few advertisements." from Choice, May 2009.
"ScientificCommons, a centralized source for freely available scientific information, currently indexes and provides access to more than 28 million documents and 1,000 repositories and open access journals. Developed by and hosted at the University of St. Gallen's Institute for Media and Communications Management, ScientificCommons has a goal of providing fast access and perpetual availability for a large body of scientific documents. The site indexes the full text and metadata that contributors provide; documents are refreshed periodically to capture any changes. Items can be submitted in Word, PDF, rich text format, PowerPoint, or Postscript. The home page offers a basic search box. After performing an initial search, users can select year and language (English or German) options, and sort results by year of publication or relevance. Moving the mouse over the results reveals selected publication information that varies according to item but usually provides author names and the repository where the item is located. Selecting the author's name provides a listing of all items by that individual. Coauthors and number of articles coauthored also appear.
Although keywords are often listed, they are not hyperlinked to automatically provide a search of similar articles--this type of functionality would be extremely helpful. Documents usually include an abstract, links to the full-text item, and the capability of downloading citation information into EndNote (CH, Feb'08, 45-2929) or BibTex http://www.bibtex.org/. RSS feeds are available for keyword and author searches, with additional personalization options. ScientificCommons is actively soliciting repositories and open access journals to add to its content. Given that it provides an effective mechanism for searching a large number of documents that otherwise would not be available through a single search, this site will be very useful for those looking for scientific documents." from Choice Oct. 2009.
SciTopics has hundreds of introductory articles about a wide variety of subjects written by experts in each discipline. Unlike Wikipedia and some other sources, all of the articles on SciTopics have gone through a process of peer review and provide a scholarly introduction to a subject as well as give a variety of resources for further research.
"To inspire science learning and showcase a new video player, Microsoft Research and Bill Gates are providing, through Project Tuva, the excellent 1964 Messenger Lectures, The Character of Physical Law, given by Richard Feynman at Cornell University just before he won the Nobel Prize in Physics. Truly inspiring, the lectures were originally filmed by the BBC for broadcast in the United Kingdom. The seven lectures are titled "Law of Gravitation," "The Relation of Mathematics and Physics," "The Great Conservation Principles," "Symmetry in Physical Law," "The Distinction of Past and Future," "Probability and Uncertainty," and "Seeking New Laws."
Each lecture has a digital time line and transcripts that allow searching and jumping directly to the text/video of mentioned subjects. As Feynman speaks, a transcript of what he says appears beneath the video. Listeners can take notes about a lecture as it progresses and save them to their local PC. Notes get flagged on the time line and pop up at the appropriate time; notes can also be searched. Only the first lecture, "The Law of Gravitation," has extras like annotations, photographs, embedded tours using Microsoft's WorldWide Telescope http://www.worldwidetelescope.org/, and links to relevant Web content appearing to the right of the video as Feynman talks. The extras appear in and can be selected from the time line. Selecting an extra pauses the video while the new content opens in another window. Physicist Stephen Ellis (Univ. of Washington) and members of the university's Society of Physics Students assisted with identifying and creating the extras. The video and audio quality is quite good given the age of the source. MIT Press originally published the lectures in book form as The Character of Physical Law in 1965." from Choice March 2010.
"Sponsored by the journal Nature (CH, Apr'09, 46-4191), the Nature Online Video Streaming Archive is a treasure trove of well-made, informative, and educational videos that feature summaries of research as detailed by the scientists who conducted the work. At the time of this review, only 27 productions (based on articles featured in Nature) were available. Videos cover such topics as the biodiversity of deep-sea organisms, ancient tsunamis and their relevance to the 2004 event, and the DNA of Neanderthals and what it reveals about human ancestry. All videos are free and can be played at low or high resolution, depending on one's Internet connection. They do, however, require the Macromedia Flash plug-in. Videos can also be viewed on Nature's YouTube channel.
As one would expect from Nature, all productions are of excellent quality. They include interviews with research scientists, fabulous photography, and explanatory graphics that detail various scientific processes. Each presentation provides links to more information about the research, including access to the original work as published in the journal (subscription required or articles can be purchased). In addition to offering an interesting way to learn about ongoing research, the videos can provide an excellent way to introduce students to the work of field biologists. This reviewer can easily envision the videos being incorporated into class as part of a discussion on careers in science--a great way to bring the scientist into the high school or undergraduate classroom. The site's only disadvantage is the lack of a search engine. This is not a problem as there are only about two dozen titles to browse, but it could be problematic with the addition of more titles to the archives." Choice, August 2009.
[Visited Sep'11] This site offers an appealing and engaging range of 60-second podcasts, broadcast weekly, in six topic areas: Science, Mind, Earth, Space, Tech, and Health. Podcasts discuss current scientific/technical issues in an easily digestible manner for nonscientists. They offer basic background information and present interesting developments on topics ranging from invasive species to learning disabilities, electric cars, women's health, and more. Complementing the pithy, brief podcasts is the Science Talk series with Steve Mirsky, which explores topics in more depth, often through interviews with experts in the field. The transcripts of the podcasts provide links to related information. The podcasts are playable on the Web and available for MP3 download, and can be shared by e-mail or social networking. Site visitors can also register to receive podcasts via RSS feeds. In addition, Scientific American subscribers can post comments about the podcasts. Overall, they are a valuable offering from Scientific American that can serve as a gateway to entice users to further explore other content in this journal; they can also serve as a starting point for additional research on a subject. Summing Up: Recommended. Lower-division undergraduates and general readers. -- K. J. Whitehair, Johnson County Library
ScienceCinema is a collection of online films put out by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), focusing on US Department of Energy research; it is a multimedia cousin to the Energy Citations Database http://www.osti.gov/energycitations/ (CH, Jan'08, 45-2363). The database allows two search methods, Audio and Bibliographic. Audio Search is the equivalent of a full-text search, but in video files. Using a simple Google-style search interface and Microsoft's speech recognition technology, ScienceCinema searches the audio transcripts of all the indexed films for the desired search terms. The results take the searcher directly to the portion of the video that mentions one's search term. The Bibliographic option searches only standard bibliographic fields. This allows for a more controlled search with advanced limiting options.
Users should have no problem navigating the clean interface, but this reviewer encountered some technical glitches with viewing the movies. According to the Help section, the user should be able to move to a full screen view by double clicking on the film, but this feature never worked for this reviewer. Internet Explorer users will need to download a Silverlight plug-in to view the site's content. The videos proved somewhat disappointing. Most are filmed PowerPoint lectures, talking head interviews, or promotional videos for labs, instead of the more dynamic science videos found in a fee-based resource like Journal of Visualized Experiments. The intended audience appears to be all over the spectrum; some videos utilize cartoon figures, while others are filmed lectures that would require a more advanced understanding of a particular field. As a freely available tool aimed at educating the general population, the site has value, and it may prove especially useful to libraries with limited collection development funds. Summing Up: Recommended. Primarily lower- and upper-division undergraduates; informed general audiences.
"Fourteen scholars from the University of Nottingham unravel the mysteries of the "strange squiggles and symbols used by scientists" in Sixty Symbols, a site that explores physics and astronomy concepts using short (ten minutes or less) entertaining videos. The symbols are nicely rendered, and they are used as links to the videos. A symbol's name appears when mousing over the symbol. The name of the Web site reflects the original intent of producing 60 videos, but now the goal is to produce 120 videos (there were 74 at the time of this review). If a concept being explored does not have a corresponding symbol, then a new symbol is created. The videos are not lessons or lectures but rather "fun chats with men and women who love their subject and know a lot about it."
Clicking on a symbol opens a pop-up browser window where one can play the video using a YouTube embedded player. This window redisplays the symbol with its name along with a witty comment. Paging through all the videos is possible in the pop-up window by using the previous and next links. Ads appear at the beginning of each video. Both image and sound quality are very good. Users can subscribe to an RSS feed to learn about newly added or updated videos. If a symbol is not currently explained, visitors can make suggestions for adding it. Site developers also welcome comments about each video; they can be submitted at the YouTube channel http://www.youtube.com/sixtysymbols. Companion Web sites include Test Tube: Behind the Scenes in the World of Science http://www.test-tube.org.uk/ and the Periodic Table of Videos http://www.periodicvideos.com/ (CH, Feb'09, 46-3256)." Choice June, 2010.