This is the "Home" page of the "Government Statistics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Government Statistics   Tags: california, government, international, statistics, united_states  

Where to find statistics by and about governmental bodies for California, the U.S. and international bodies.
Last Updated: Sep 14, 2014 URL: http://libguides.libraries.claremont.edu/govtStats Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Guide Contents

This guide will help you locate statistics from or about the categories listed on the tabs above. Please click on a tab above for more specific resources.  For more general sources, the "Starting Points" on this page are good places to begin your research.

The government is the largest compiler of statistics on any geographic level. There are statistics from the United States government and many other governments on a variety of topics including state and local governmental units.

  • Do you want information on interest rates?
  • Infant mortality?
  • Highway fatality rates?
  • Public Opinion Polls?

It is more difficult to find historical statistics than current statistics. Many countries did not collect data until the late 20th century. Others have compiled extensive databases. Some resources are only available to the students, faculty, and staff of the Claremont Colleges. They are noted with the lock icon.

 

Reference Books

Don't understand terminology or basic priniciples of statistics?  These reference works may be of help.

Cover Art
Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 0521860393
Publication Date: 2002

Cover Art
A Dictionary of Statistical Terms
Call Number: HA17 .K4 1990 Honnold Reference
ISBN: 0470213493
Publication Date: 1990

Reference Web Sites

Starting Points

  • Data Planet Statistical Insight/DataSets  Icon  Icon
    Aggregates over 590 licensed and public domain datasets provided by over 50 sources.
  • NationMaster  Icon
    This site provides comparative national statistics on a variety of topics. In many cases, statistics can also be displayed as bar graphs, charts, or maps. Data sources include "the CIA World Factbook, United Nations, World Health Organization, World Bank, World Resources Institute, UNESCO, UNICEF and OECD." The site also offers other sections, such as single-country profiles, an encyclopedia, flags, and more.
  • StateMaster  Icon
    This site provides comparative U.S. state statistics on a variety of topics. In many cases, statistics can also be displayed as bar graphs, charts, or maps. Data sources include the "US Census Bureau, FirstGov.gov, the FBI, Bureau of Justice, and various other governmental and non-profit organizations." The site also offers other sections, such as single-state profiles, flags, and maps.
  • Historical Statistics of the United States  Icon
    Covers the entire history of the US in the form of statistics on virtually any topic relevant to the social and political fabric of the country.

Library Databases

  • ICPSR  Icon
    The ICPSR (InterUniversity Consortium for Political and Social Science Research) is a vast data archive of political and social science data for research and instruction. Remote access is available to the Claremont Colleges Academic Community. Data are browsable and searchable within 19 broad subject areas, by alphabet (series data), and by country.
  • Roper Polls  Icon
    Good for searching election exit polls, public opinion polls, and other survey data. It provides raw data for bivariate and multivariate analyses of survey data files to analyze on your own desktop. Contains indexes to polls back to 1940s; electronic access to codebooks from mid-90s. It also contains some Latin America and Japanese polls.

Datasets in Blais

Other Sources for Finding Statistics

Almanacs, factbooks, and even general books may be good sources of statistics. Try searching the Library catalog entering statistics in one subject search box and in a separate subject search box (use the drop-down menu to change any box to a subject search), enter the topic on which you are trying to find statistics.

Use a periodical index to locate articles with statistical data. Use statistics as a subject search term in a database such as Academic Search Premier. Organizations and associations may provide statistical information on their Web sites. Asking yourself, "Who is interested in this topic" can suggest valuable resources for finding statistics. For example, the American Bar Association provides statistics on legal education. (Make sure you think critically about the source, considering, for instance, the association's purpose and agenda. Click here to read more.)
 
Searching for a research guide on finding statistics in your topic area can be another effective strategy. In your favorite search engine, try entering your subject and statistics and "research guide."

      

    Librarian

    Profile Image
    Sara Lowe
    Contact Info
    (909) 607-6231
    Honnold Library
    Send Email
     

    Need Help? Ask Us

    phone icon Call Us:
    909-607-3959
    mobile icon Text Us:
    909-430-1495
    email icon Email Us:
    7C email form
    Twitter icon Follow Us:
    @honnoldlibrary
    Facebook icon Like Us:
    Honnold/Mudd Library
    phone icon IM Us:
    librarianchat
    Chat requires JavaScript.
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip