This is the "Home" page of the "Media Studies Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Media Studies Research Guide   Tags: dvds, film, media_studies, movie_reviews, movies  

Last Updated: Jul 3, 2014 URL: http://libguides.libraries.claremont.edu/mediastudies Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

HONNOLD DVD and VHS CHECKOUT

Video checkout  unlimited number ; Seven (7) day check-out (unless film is on RESERVE) with NO renewals.

 

New videos at Honnold

Subscribe to an RSS feed of new AV videos in Honnold.

Use Internet Explorer!

 

Articles in Scholarly Journals

Scholarly articles on media studies may be located by using many different databases, depending on your topic. Once you have found the articles you want, most databases have the green GET THIS ITEM button, which will find the full text for you, or lead you to search Blais, or to ask for InterLibrary Loan.

Academic Search Premier Media reviews are included. Limit to Peer reviewed.

Omnifile Media reviews are included. Limit to Peer reviewed.

MLA Bibliography covers primarily modern literature, but it does include a number of scholarly film and television journals. Reviews are not included. Also includes books, book articles and dissertations.

International Index to the Performing Arts: IIPA draws current content from hundreds of international performing arts periodicals, and also indexes featured performing arts articles and obituaries appearing in The New York Times and The Washington Post. Both popular and scholarly articles are included.

Arts and Humanities Search Cited references from humanities journals, including media studies, available through Web of Science..

 

AFI top 100 film lists with Honnnold AV #

How many of the American Film Institute's 100 top films have you seen?
We have all of them in the Honnold AV collection.
(See the golden list in the video notebooks at the main Services Desk.)

Films were judged by AFI according to the following criteria:

1.        Feature-length: Narrative format, at least 40 minutes long.

2.        American film: English language, with significant creative and/or financial production elements from the  United States.

3.        Critical Recognition: Formal commendation in print.

4.        Major Award Winner: Recognition from competitive events including awards from organizations in the film community and major film festivals.

5.        Popularity Over Time: Including figures for box office adjusted for inflation, television broadcasts and syndication, and home video sales and rentals.

6.        Historical Significance: A film's mark on the history of the moving image through technical innovation, visionary narrative devices or other groundbreaking achievements.

7.        Cultural Impact: A film's mark on American society in matters of style and substance.

Reference Librarian

Profile Image
Meg Garrett
Contact Info
Reference, Honnold/Mudd Library
x77101
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip