- Historical Statistics of the United States
Covers the entire history of the US in the form of statistics on virtually any topic relevant to the social and political fabric of the country.
- American Periodical Series
Provides full text access to more than 150 years of American magazine journalism. 1741-1930.
- Reader's Guide Retrospective
Essential for finding late 19th and 20th century popular magazines.
- Academic Search Premier
In addition to scholarly, has popular magazines back to 1980.
- Historical New York Times
The complete contents of the NYT from 1851 to the present, reproducing all pages and images.
- Historical Los Angeles Times
The complete contents of the LAT from 1881 to 1985, reporducting all pages and images.
- Historical Los Angeles Sentinel
Full text from Historic African-American Newspaper, 1934-2005.
- Historical San Fracisco Chronicle
Full Text of historic newspaper for the years 1865-1922.
- Historical Chicago Defender
Full Text of Historic African-American Newspaper 1910-1975
has many the world's English and European-language newspapers going back ten to thirty years. Also includes US Laws, legislation, court cases and much more.
- NewsBank Full-Text Newspapers
Complete full-text content of local and regional news
- African-American Newspapers: The 19th Century
Full-text of articles from major African American newspapers published in the United States in the 19th century, from 1827-1902.
- Chronicling America: Historical Newspapers at the Library of Congress
- Ethnic Newswatch
Access to full text articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. Contains mostly popular publications, although some scholarly material is also included. 1960-present
- Ethnic Newswatch: A History
- Women and Social Movements in the United States
Brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women's reform activities.
- Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online
Primary documents related to women's history, 1543-1945.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Full text collection of letters, diaries, and unpublished manuscripts written by women from Colonial times to 1950
- World News Connection
Contemporary broadcast transcripts from the Foreign Broadcast Information Service.
- Everyday Life & Women in America, c.1800–1920
For the study of American social, cultural, and popular history and women's studies, this resource provides access to rare primary source material from several collections.
- Black Studies Center
has much on African and African-American history, including primary documents.
- African American Experience
Draws on 450 primary source titles to allow African Americans to speak for themselves regarding the black experience from its African origins to the present day.
- Black Thought and Culture
A fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more.
Major world newspapers from 1980, US and state court cases, business information and law information.
- Lexis/Nexis Congressional
Includes the Congressional Record, bills and law tracking, Hearing Transcripts, and the US Serial Set.
- List of online newspaper archives
Wikipedia list of online historical and contemporary newspapers, some for free, some for pay. For other newspapers available from the Libraries, see the newspaper list under Databases on the library homepage: http://libraries.claremont.edu/resources/databases/
US bills and laws from Congress.
- Digital National Security Archives
Declassfied primary documents in twelve complete collections
- National Security Archives
Collection of historical and contemporary documents, hosted at George Washington University.
- Honnold/Mudd Special Collections
Honnold/Mudd and Denison Special Collections are treasure houses of primary historical materials for all types of history and almost all periods, including much on American, Californian History and History of the West.
- Claremont Digital Library
Digitized resources from the Libraries and the Claremont Colleges
includes all types of materials from all types libraries in the United States and some national libraries from other countries, WorldCat is a good place to do a complete search for primary materials that may not be here at The Colleges.
- Center for Research Libraries
Another wealth of primary sources, particularly for the 19th and 20th centuries, is available fromThe Center for Research Libraries in Chicago via our CRL membership.
- Making of America at the University of Michigan
A wealth of full text books and journals from the 19th Century through Reconstruction in two parts housed at two universities.
- Making of America at Cornell
- Claremont Colleges Digital Library
is a search engine at the University of Bielefeld at Germany that searches a growing number of digital repositories.
- American Memory Project
Digitized collections from the Library of Congress
- From Revolution to Reconstruction
- Digital Sanborn Maps 1867-197-
Provides access to digitized existing Sanborn maps for the state of California. Users have the ability to easily manipulate the maps, magnify and zoom in on specific sections, and layer maps from different years.
- US Historic Documents
University of Oklahoma site that has chronology of important documents from and relevant to US history going back the Magna Carta, with links to full text.
- Rose Institute's California Political History Archive and Database
- Hein Online
Treaties, Law Journals, and historical law materials.
- Twentieth Century Political Posters
The posters held by Special Collections are focused in these areas: the U.S. during World War I and World War II, the Sino-Japanese War (1937-1945), the Cultural Revolution in China (1966-1976), and post-WWII Soviet Union.
- American Occupation of Japan, Voices of the Key Participants
- Academic Info US History Gateway
- Avalon Project
s a very rich resource hosted by the Yale University Law School with special emphasis on law and diplomacy from ancient to modern
- Internet Modern History Sourcebook: Early US History
- Internet Modern HIstory Sourcebook: Maturation of US HIstory
- Internet Modern History Sourcebook: Colonial North America
- Internet Modern History Sourcebook: Early US
- Internet Archive
Exhaustive repository of and gateway to recordings, videos, and texts. A good place to find multi-media.
- The American Presidency Project
Full Text Documents related to the presidency including public papers.
- American Social History Online
- C-Span Video Library
Makes available virtually "all C-Span programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses."