This is the "Home" page of the "Persistent URLs" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Persistent URLs  

How to locate stable, persistent URLs to databases, online articles, and e-books.
Last Updated: Jul 6, 2012 URL: http://libguides.libraries.claremont.edu/URLs Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Resources by Title

Click the tabs above to browse resources or use this drop-down box to search by title.
 

DOIs

A DOI (Digital Object Identifier) acts like a persistent URL. If your article has a DOI (for example, doi: 10.1525/aa.2000.102.4.916) you can find the abstract/full-text of the article by adding a URL prefix to the DOI: http://dx.doi.org/. So the URL for the example DOI would be http://dx.doi.org/10.1525/aa.2000.102.4.916.

 

Dynamic vs Persistent

When you look at a full-text article in a library subscription database or at a publisher's website, the URL associated with that article is either dynamic or persistent.

A dynamic URL means the the URL was created at the time you did the search in the database that eventually brought you to the article you are viewing. A dynamic URL is temporary and usually will not work when copied and tried again. So if you provide the URL to others (as in a research paper reference list, in a syllabus, in SAKAI, etc.) they will not usually be able to access the information.

A persistent or durable URL will return you to the same article every time. Some vendors do a very good job of providing a persistent/durable URL, others do not. This creates a problem when you need to provide a persistent or durable URL to put into a list of references for your paper or an email, or when instructors want to put links in SAKAI. This guide will give you information you can use to create persistent/durable URLs.

 

Proxy Prefix

A proxy prefix should be part of all library database URLs. This prefix allows students and faculty affiliated with the Claremont Colleges access to the databases regardless of their location on or off-campus.

Without the proxy prefix, users trying to access databases from off-campus will not be recognized as a Claremont Colleges user.

The prefix is: http://ccl.idm.oclc.org/login?url=.

Some proivders include the proxy prefix (e.g., ProQuest) but, in general, you will have to add this prefix to your URLs.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Margaret Hogarth
Contact Info
Records Center
2038 W. 11th Street
Upland, CA 91786
Send Email
 

Feedback

Did we forget a resource? Is something not clear? Please let us know how we can improve this guide.

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip