This is the "Home" page of the "Financial Engineering" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Financial Engineering  

This is a research guide for resources in Finance.
Last Updated: Jan 30, 2014 URL: http://libguides.libraries.claremont.edu/finance Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

FAQ

How do I find financial information on companies/corporations?

Some information can be found for free online, for example via EDGAR, the SEC (Security & Exchange Commission database of corporate filings) but it can be found in a more usable format using the financial databses that the library subscribes to.

How Do I Find Financial Information on Privately-Owned Companies?

It is difficult to find information on privately owned companies because they do not have to file reports to shareholders (SEC reports) Hoovers has some information, but the companies themselves are the best sources of information.

Database Links

  • Compustat, SEE: WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services)
  • Global Financial Data  
      
    Comprehensive economic and financial time-series database covering 200 countries and 6,500 different data series.
  • Hoovers  
      
    Directory and financial information about over 12 million companies and 600 industries.
  • LexisNexis Academic (Company Dossier Library)  
      
    (Coverage dates vary by publication; most begin post-1980).Full text newspaper, magazine and trade journal articles, SEC filings, and newswire stories.
  • Mergent Online  
      
    Mergent (Moody's) Company Data and International Company Data is a database containing information on over 25,000 companies worldwide.
  • Thomson ONE Banker  
      
    **MUST use Internet Explorer. Offers quick and easy access to quotes, earnings estimates, financial fundamentals, market moving news, transaction data, corporate filings, ownership profiles and research from industry-leading sources. Use only Internet Explorer.
  • Valueline Investment Survey Online  
      
    This resource provides graphs and charts of financial information on companies that sell stock.
  • WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services)  
      
    Comprehensive web-based data management system. User name and password required. Claremont Colleges users may contact librarian Mary Martin concerning access (see "more info").
    The following databases are available through WRDS:
    Compustat, Execucomp
    CRSP
    Thomson Financial (Insider, Institutional and Mutual Fund trading data)
    Mergent FISD )Fixed Income Securites/Corporate Bonds)
    KLD Data
    Corporate Library
  • Investext SEE LexisNexis (Company Dossier Library)
    Provides latest two investment, company and industry reports from over 500 brokers Worldwide.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Mary Martin
Chat requires JavaScript.
Contact Info
IRIS South
Honnold/Mudd Library
Claremont Colleges
909-621-8923
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip