Scholarly, Secondary Resources in Classics
Start with a keyword search in Blais to find books located at Honnold/Mudd and other campus libraries.. Depending on your subject, you may also want to search the Claremont School of Theology's catalog. . Or you may want to start with WorldCat, which has holdings at most US libraries and many libraries outside the US. You can then expand your search with the resources below to find articles and books. When available, use the green "Get this Item button" in a record to determine whether the libraries have an article or book or to link to Interlibary Loan to request materials not at the Libraries.
- L'Annee Philologique
The main scholarly index for classical philology, literature and history.
- Adademic Search Premier
Our main interdisciplinary index includes both scholarly and non-scholarly articles. Good for subjects and topics, including classics and ancient history.
Includes all types of materials from all types libraries in the United States and some national libraries from other countries, WorldCat is a good place to do a complete search for primary materials that may not be here at The Colleges. Use the same types of searches suggested for Blais above. Search the titles you find in Blais to determine holdings. Order books we don't have or books on loan through link+; order books not available at the libraries or link+ through Interlibrary Loan.
- Historical Abstracts
Main index for archaeology, including so-called pre-history, the ancient, and classical worlds.
- Humanities Abstracts
Multi-disciplinary scholarly index for articles. Covers 1984 to present.
- Humanities Abstracts Retrospective
Pre-1984 Humanities Index
- Periodical Index Online
International Index to scholarly and non-scholarly articles in several languages going back to the late 18th Century.
- ATLA Religion
As the main database for scholarly articles and books about religion. A good place to go for religion in the ancient world.
- Philosopher's Index
The main database for scholarship about Philosophy. A good place to go for research about philosophy of the ancient world.
Please feel free to contact Adam Rosenkranz, History Subject Specialist, through the library Help Widget, or when I'm offline, email me or call me at