Short Bibliography
Get This Item
CA History in the CCDL
This is the "Home" page of the "California History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

California History   Tags: california, california_history, history  

This guide was created to highlight the sources available for the study of California's history.
Last Updated: Mar 8, 2014 URL: http://libguides.libraries.claremont.edu/californiahistory Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Related Research Guides

California history can be viewed through many different lenses such as culture, ethnicity, gender and the environment.  Below are a few research guides that may help you see California's history from a different point of view.

 

About this Guide

California image

This guide is intended to connect Claremont Colleges students, faculty, and staff with a variety of resources useful for conducting research on California history. The tabs near the top of the screen can help you locate the specific resources necessary for your research.

Historical Research Sources
Explains difference between primary and secondary source materials and scholarly v. popular sources.

Finding Articles
Useful for finding peer-reviewed articles and case studies, news articles, conference proceedings, dissertations, book reviews, and more.  Includes instructions on how to "Get this Item" once you have identified articles of interest. 

Finding Books
Useful for finding books in the Claremont Colleges Library, as well as books in other libraries.  Includes a short bibliography of items relevant to California history.

The Census, Gov Docs & Data
Many of the materials in this category are considered published primary sources. They are produced by various local, state, and federal agencies and are available to the public. This is a good place to look for statistics.

Websites
Links to web sites for California historical societies, museums, and associations; archival and library collections; and digital collections.  Includes a list of collections in the Claremont Colleges Digital Library (CCDL) relating to California history.

Writing & Citing
Information on various style guides and citation managers.

Western Americana Librarian, Special Collections

Profile Image
Lisa L. Crane
Contact Info
Honnold/Mudd Library
Special Collections
909.607.0862
Send email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip