Guide Contents
All Our Legal Guides
Administrative Law
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
Rules, regulations, order, licenses, advisory opinions, and decisions promulgated by agencies or the President.
22 views this year
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
Rules, regulations, order, licenses, advisory opinions, and decisions promulgated by agencies or the President.
22 views this year
California Legal Research
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
Information on the California legal system.
32 views this year
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
Information on the California legal system.
32 views this year
Constitutional Law
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
Information on researching U.S. Constitutional Law, includes information on State Constitutional Research.
37 views this year
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
Information on researching U.S. Constitutional Law, includes information on State Constitutional Research.
37 views this year
EA 95: U.S. Environmental Policy Processes
- Last Updated Feb 11, 2013
EA 95 starts with the idea that institutions of government are not a fixed inheritance but choices that are constantly being revised. The goal of the course is to provide evidence for this idea through a basic introduction to both American institutions an
47 views this year
- Last Updated Feb 11, 2013
EA 95 starts with the idea that institutions of government are not a fixed inheritance but choices that are constantly being revised. The goal of the course is to provide evidence for this idea through a basic introduction to both American institutions an
47 views this year
Federal Legislative History
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
How to find the law before it becomes the law.
8 views this year
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
How to find the law before it becomes the law.
8 views this year
International, Foreign, and Comparative Law
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
How to find and research international and foreign law.
187 views this year
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
How to find and research international and foreign law.
187 views this year
IP Law
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
Contains information on the three primary areas of intellectual property law: copyright, patents, and trademarks.
13 views this year
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
Contains information on the three primary areas of intellectual property law: copyright, patents, and trademarks.
13 views this year
Legal Citation
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
The basics of legal citation including citation styles Bluebook and ALWD.
77 views this year
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
The basics of legal citation including citation styles Bluebook and ALWD.
77 views this year
Legal Databases How-to Search
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
Search tips and techniques for LexisNexis Academic, Westlaw, HeinOnline, and ProQuest Congressional
133 views this year
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
Search tips and techniques for LexisNexis Academic, Westlaw, HeinOnline, and ProQuest Congressional
133 views this year
Legal Research
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
A basic overview of the U.S. legal system and legal research.
243 views this year
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
A basic overview of the U.S. legal system and legal research.
243 views this year
Introduction
This guide provides an overview of Primary Sources, the three branches of government at the Federal and State (California) levels. It also includes information about locating Secondary Sources of law. Although it may seem non-intuitive, often the best way to research legal issues is to start with a secondary source (e.g., a law review article or book) and then use the information found in that source to find primary sources of law (e.g., statutes, cases, and regulations). In addition, The Basics lists questions to ask yourself when beginning to research a topic and information on jurisdictions.
Branches of Government
Other Resources
- Locating the Law
Created by the Southern California Association of Law Libraries (SCALL) Public Access to Legal Information (PALI) Committee. Contains information about legal research, finding the law, and helping Self-Represented Litigants.
Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Need Help? Ask Us
| Call Us: 909-607-3959 |
|
| Text Us: 909-430-1495 |
|
| Email Us: 7C email form |
|
| Follow Us: @honnoldlibrary |
|
| Like Us: Honnold/Mudd Library |
|
| IM Us: librarianchat |
|
Chat requires JavaScript.
|



Loading...
