Skip to main content

PIT FYS - Youth Culture - Prof. Affuso - FA 2017

Why use argument sources?

Argument sources are those with which you engage their argument. These are usually scholarly sources, because scholarly sources tend to make academic arguments. In your research, argument sources introduce you to what we already know - and what we don't arleady know - about your research topic. In your assignment, you use them to refine, extend, or refute your argument.

 

Database Search Strategies

When you search a database, it is important to think about how your search terms will be interpreted by the database. To combine terms effectively in a database search you can use the "operators" and, or, and not.

AND retrieves only those records in which all search terms are present:   

      gender and youth and film

OR retrieves all records containing one or more of the search terms:

    youth or adolescent

NOT retrieves only those records which include the first term but do not include the second term:  

   film NOT television
  
You can also create fairly complex search statements using several "operators" combined with appropriate use of parentheses.
    film and (youth or adolescent)

Truncation symbols (usually an *) will yield different forms of the same base word; for example, adolescen* will find both adolescence and adolescent.

 

Scholarly Article Databases

Most scholarly databases are discipline specific. You will want to think about what discipline(s) study your topic in order to pick the best places to search. Here is a link to all of our databases listed by subject: http://libraries.claremont.edu/resources/databases/

Here is a list of databases that may be helpful to you.

In many cases, there is a direct link to the full text of the article. If not, use the button. Use interlibrary loan to request journal articles that are not available at the Claremont Colleges Library.

Recommended Scholarly Journals