Skip to main content

PIT FYS - Youth Culture - Prof. Affuso - FA 2017

Why use background sources?

Background sources are used to provide justification, rationale, or context for your research problem. In your research, they introduce you to the theories, theorists, and approaches central to your topic. In your assignment, these are usually used to answer  "why should I care about this?"

 

Encyclopedias

Dictionaries and encyclopedias provide background information on a topic or concept.

Recent Media & Film Reviews

To provide background or context to your film, you may need to find reviews of movies, television shows. Here are some recommended places to search for them:

  • MRQE Movie Review Query Engine. Search by title, or look at one of the lists, such as upcoming releases, Academy awards, and most popular. Includes very up-to-date information on new releases and video releases.
  • CineFiles A database of reviews, press kits, festival and showcase program notes, newspaper articles, and other documents from the Pacific Film Archive Library's clippings files. The files contain documents from a broad range of sources covering world cinema, past and present." Some full-text included; citations for published material. Ongoing project that ll have 200,000 documents when complete.
  • LexisNexis Academic. To find newspaper reviews of recent films, select the Content Type: All News, then Article Type : Movie Reviews then  search a major word or phrase from the movie or show title in the (required) keyword box. For example, "Austin Powers." Use date limits to narrow your focus. Click the "Source List" button to find out which publications are included. This will locate the full text of the reviews in newspapers.
  • Academic Search Premier Includes movie and television reviews. Search the most important words in the title ("Simpsons" or "Sopranos") and (left column) Limit to Source type REVIEW.
  • Omnifile Includes movie and television reviews. Search the most important words in the title ("Simpsons" or "Hamlet" or "Sopranos") and (left column) Limit to Source type REVIEW.