Welcome! I created this course guide to assist you with finding library resources for Writing 50 Writing the Image. Please feel free to contact me at any point throughout the research process if you need help or want a friendly person to help you through the research process.
For your second Textual Analysis for this class, you will need to "locate, analyze, and compare two scholarly sources that make critical arguments about the same visual image." (Hodges, Textual Analysis II). These sources can be articles or book chapters that present an argument or interpretation about your image.
For the final research assignment for this course, you will write a Researched Argument. In order to do so, you will need to find seven (7) peer-reviewed secondary sources.You may also find reference sources helpful in finding biographical details about the subject(s) of your research.
A growing full text collection of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Most titles only include backfiles (some as far back as the early 1800s), with only some current content. Also includes university press ebooks.
Provides access to resources owned by the Claremont Colleges Library, and to millions of resources from libraries worldwide that we do not own. In addition to physical materials housed in the library, Library Search also provides access to online sources (e-books, articles, dissertations, and streaming video and audio).
High-resolution art images. You will need to create a free account before you can download images.
Citation Management Tools
Citation Managers are tools to help you keep track of your citations as you research and to create/format your citations and bibliography. Both RefWorks and Zotero allow you to keep citations, full text articles, and other research resources organized in one place. You can also use these tools to format your bibliographies and the notes/citations in your papers according to the appropriate style (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.).
Zotero is a free open source application that works with Firefox, Chrome, and Safari, you can also download a client to your computer. It is a good choice if you use just one computer when researching. You can access citation information when online or offline.
RefWorks is web-based and available only to 7C users. Your data is saved on the RefWorks servers so you must be online to access your citations. So if you use multiple computers you may want to consider this option.