Authoritative source featuring biographies of composers and performers, and information on major music topics; world music; jazz, rock, and pop; and musical instruments and their history. Includes bibliographies and lists of composers' works.
Provides full text access to Grove Music Online, Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music. Authoritative source featuring biographies of composers and performers, and information on major music topics; world music; jazz, rock, and pop; and musical instruments and their history. Includes bibliographies and lists of composers' works.
by Henry Louis Gates; Kwame Anthony Appiah
Stories and folklore from Africa and the African Diaspora. Over 11,700 short stories and folktales ranging from oral traditions to contemporary tales of modern life. Includes complete runs of selected literary magazines such as Kyk-Over-Al and The Beacon.
Includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
Consists of 1,305 pieces of African-American sheet music dating from 1850
through 1920. The collection includes many songs from the heyday of antebellum black face minstrelsy in the 1850s and from
the abolitionist movement of the same period.
Major resource for identifying scholarly research on Latin America, the U.S.-Mexican border region, and Hispanics in the U.S. Provides access to citations for articles, reviews, bibliographies, original literary works and other documents in major disciplines of the social sciences and humanities. Covers scholarly journals published worldwide. 1970-present.
Provides a way to broadly search across many disciplines for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.