FAQ - What's the difference between scholarly journal articles, magazines, and trade journals?
A scholarly journal article is a journal generally published through a peer-reviewed or juried process, which means that one or more scholars in the field have read and approved the article for publication. examples are the Journal of Management or the Journal of Business Ethics.
A magazine article may go through and editorial process, but it is not generally believed to be as rigorous as the peer review process. Examples are The Economist or Business Week.
A trade publication is a one usually published by and for the trade/industry itself, such as Beverage World or Marketing Week.
A newspaper is a timely news generated publication, often daily or weekly, and not necessarily unbiased. Examples include the Wall Street Journal and the New York Times.
Databases useful for journal and magazine articles; industry reports
Covers all major management disciplines from marketing, human resources management, library and information management, and quality to operations management. Full text complete with archives back to 1994 and abstracts back to 1989.
Some of the world's top news sources. Includes titles such as, The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
Law, News and Business Database.
Full text news articles, law journal articles, court cases, briefs, legal codes, and SEC filings. Users can Shepardize court cases and then read the full text of the related decisions. Most publications are covered 1980-present. The best place to find interview transcripts from television and radio.
Where Are the Books in the Claremont Colleges Library?
This PDF shows what call numbers are on what floors of Honnold/Mudd. There are also copies at the Services Desk.