Mergent (Moody's) Company Data and International Company Data is a database containing information on companies worldwide. Provides historical data going back 10 years in some cases, data is downloadable into Excel format. MERGENT Equity Portraits combines fundamental company information with stock price, volume and other data to paint a detailed picture of U.S. firms, and analysis of the firm's financial health, in-depth industry analysis and text commentary on the firm both in absolute terms, as well as relative to industry peers. Does not contatin industry reports or information on private companies.
A directory that supplies detailed information on over 13 million businesses, 120 million households, and 683,000 health care providers as well as information on Canadian busineses and households. There are two databases within Reference USA, a Business database and a Residential database. The Residential database contains some demographic information such as median household income and median home value for the area. The Business database contains some bussiness data such as sales, executives, links to SEC reports on Edgar etc. This is primarily directory information. There is a download option which is limited, 15 per download in-house and 5 per download. There is a way to create lists but it does take some creative limiting while downloading. Useful for general information and allows mapping of addresses for GIS purposes. Business listings provide information on sales, executives, lines of business and have location information such as latitude and longitude, useful for creating maps.
Note: On campus use only. Provides online access to the very popular Industry Surveys and Stock Reports. Current reports only, hisotical are available in paper back to 1978 Hon HC106.6 .S74 (Latest paper in Hon Ref). Industry Surveys give a nice overview of large industries, and often provide statistics on the top companies in the industry, Stock Reports also give latest financial update on stock data, as well as historical data.
Covers the entire history of the US in the form of statistics on virtually any topic relevant to the social and political fabric of the country. Includes statistics on population, work, health, education, elections, industry and economics. The user can do basic searches, browse indexes and tables, and construct custom tables.
Aggregates many licensed and public domain datasets provided by many sources and makes that data available from within a single interface. Use Internet Explorer. Requires Java-enabled browser. Users scan the contents of these datasets, select subjects and variables of interest, and view the data in side-by-side tables and charts. The product also provides accompanying metadata in the form of citation records to provide details on how the data were collected and obtained.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. Provides aggregated statistics as well as data files for use with statistical software, such as SAS or SPSS. Most popular files are: American National Election Studies Cumulative File, 1948-2000; General Social Surveys, 1972-2002; World Values Surveys & European Values Surveys; Common Core of Data (CCD) Series. Good for public opinion polls, crime data, health data, drug use and attitude data, and other social indicators. Searchable by keyword, title, study number, and investigator.