Skip to main content

CMC FHS - Vampires, Zombies, & African Diaspora - Prof. Sarzynski - FA 17

Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition

Chicago and Turabian citation styles use footnotes or endnotes for in text citations and a bibliography that lists all sources referenced in the text alphabetically by author's last name at the end of the paper/publication.

Basics of Chicago Style Footnotes

From Section 14.2014.23 

Notes are styled like running text, and generally lists the following elements, in this order: 

  • Authors’ name(s): presented in standard order (first name first), 
  • Title: capitalized headline-style (major words).
    • Titles of larger works (e.g., books and journals) are italicized;
    • Titles of smaller works (e.g., chapters, articles) or unpublished works are enclosed in quotation marks 
  • Facts of publication: 
    •  Books: put in parentheses: (Publication city: Publisher, Publication Date), Page number(s) referenced
    • Journals articles: Volume # follows the italicized journal title with no intervening punctuation, issue number (abbreviated as no.), Publictation date in parentheses: page number(s) referenced.

Other features:

  • Elements of a note are separated by commas
  • Terms such as editor/edited by, translator/translated by, volume, and edition are abbreviated. 
  • Full details must be given in a note at first mention of a work ; subsequent citations only need to include a short form that includes author's last name, the title, shortened if more than 4 words long, and page number(s). 

Basics of Chicago Style Footnotes

From Section: 14.21

Bibliography entries vary from footnotes in the following ways: 

  • Elements of a citation are separated by periods rather than commas.
  • Facts of publication: not enclosed in parentheses. 
  • The first-listed author’s name, according to which the entry is alphabetized in the bibliography, is  inverted (last name first).
  • Verb forms of these terms are spelled out: edited by and translated by

Bibliography entries are the same as footnotes in the following ways:  

  • Titles are capitalized headline-style 
    • Titles of larger works (e.g., books and journals) are italicized;  
    • Titles of smaller works (e.g., chapters, articles) or unpublished works are enclosed in quotation marks. 
  • Noun forms of these terms are abbreviated: editor, translator, volume, and edition. 

Examples of Chicago Style Notes & Citations

Films & TV Shows (From Section 14.265)

Recorded media notes can begin with the title instead of the creator/director. 

1.  Gravity. 2013; Burbank, CA: Warner Bros. Pictures, 2014. Blu-ray Disc

Cuarón, Alfonso, dir. Gravity. 2013; Burbank, CA: Warner Bros. Pictures, 2014. Blu-ray Disc, 1080p HD

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

1. The Brady Bunch. Season 3, episode 10, “Her Sister’s Shadow,” Aired November 19, 1971, on ABC, https://www.hulu.com/the-brady-bunch. 

Mayberry, Russ, dir. The Brady Bunch. Season 3, episode 10, “Her Sister’s Shadow.” Aired November 19, 1971, on ABC. https://www.hulu.com/the-brady-bunch.

  • Review Articles (From Sections 14.202 and 14.203)

  • 1.  William C. Brehm, Review of Strike for America: Chicago Teachers Against Austerity, by Micah Uetricht, Comparative Education Review 59, no. 1, February 2015, 177.

  • 2. Brehm, Review of Strike, 178. 

  • Brehm, William C. Review of Strike for America: Chicago Teachers Against Austerity, by Micah Uetricht. Comparative Education Review 59, no. 1 (February 2015): 177–79. https://doi-org.ccl.idm.oclc.org/10.1086/679296.

  • Journal Articles (From Section 14.23)

  • 1. Benjamin Bagley, “Loving Someone in Particular,” Ethics 125, no. 2 (January 2015): 484–85.

  • 2. Bagley, “Loving Someone in Particular,” 501.

    Bagley, Benjamin. “Loving Someone in Particular.” Ethics 125, no. 2 (January 2015): 477–507.

Books (From Section 14.23)

1. Meghan Daum, ed., Selfish, Shallow, and Self-Absorbed: Sixteen Writers on the Decision Not to Have Kids (New York: Picador, 2015), 32.

2. Daum, Selfish, Shallow, 17. 

 Daum, Meghan ed., Selfish, Shallow, and Self-Absorbed: Sixteen Writers on the Decision Not to Have Kids (New York: Picador, 2015). 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

1. Max Brooks, World War Z: An Oral history of the Zombie War (New York: Crown, 2006), 55. 

2. Brooks, World War Z, 72. 

Brooks, Max. World War Z : An Oral History of the Zombie War. New York: Crown, 2006.


Keep in mind that publications vary and will require adapting from the examples of above. When in doubt refer to the Chicago Style Manual to see if they provide examples or guidance on how to handle sources that don't fit the standard. 

Citation Management Tools

Citation Managers are tools to help you keep track of your citations as you research and to create/format your citations and bibliography. Both RefWorks and Zotero allow you to keep citations, full text articles, and other research resources organized in one place. You can also use these tools to format your bibliographies and the notes/citations in your papers according to the appropriate style (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.).