Skip to main content

Geology

Finding Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Articles

When you want to find articles about topics in your area of interest, use the databases for that subject. Databases are search engines for journal articles, newspaper articles, book reviews, dissertations, and (sometimes) gray literature on specific topics or disciplines.

Most databases are subject- or discipline-specific, but don't forget to try out databases that search across disciplines in order to maximize your ability to find materials. Examples of interdisciplinary databases are Academic Search Premier and JSTOR.  Lots of things we'll own online, but for the things we do not own online, make sure to place a request for that item through Resource Sharing

Databases for Finding Articles

Browsing for Articles and Books

Finding Books

Geology books can be found on the first floor of the library in the compact shelving next to the cafe.

Books are a core resource in geology, and you'll want to use the library's discovery layer to Search Books, Articles, and More at the Claremont Colleges Library and Beyond, as well as browsing the shelves of the geology collection to find books for your research. You can search by keyword, author, title, subject, etc.

Browsing the collection is a great way to find valuable books that slip through a typical library catalog search.  In academic libraries in the US, books are grouped by subject and the call numbers correspond to those subjects.  You'll want the Library of Congress subject breakdown for math before you begin to browse for books in your area of interest.

LC subclassification for QE:

QE1-996.5            Geology
QE1-350.62          General geology Including geographical divisions
QE351-399.2        Mineralogy
QE420-499           Petrology
QE500-639.5        Dynamic and structural geology
QE521-545           Volcanoes and earthquakes
QE601-613.5        Structural geology
QE640-699           Stratigraphy
QE701-760           Paleontology
QE760.8-899.2     Paleozoology
QE901-996.5        Paleobotany

See the Library of Congress Classification Outline for more information
http://www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/lcco/lcco.html

Additionally, there are many geology books in the Dewey Decimal area of the library's collections.