Only 2 Simultaneous Users
Creates thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data with built in GPS locations. Select, sort, and compare data across multiple locations and build custom reports that can be exported to a spreadsheet for additional functionality.
"The Crustal Dynamics Data Information System (CDDIS) supports data archiving and distribution activities for the space geodesy and geodynamics community. The main objectives of the system are to store space geodesy and geodynamics related data products in a central data bank, to maintain information about the archival of these data, and to disseminate these data and information in a timely manner to NASA investigators and cooperating institutions. The CDDIS staff and computer facility are located at NASA GSFC in Greenbelt, MD and is part of the Solar System Exploration Division within the Sciences and Exploration Directorate."
"This series shows the physical processes and human activities that shape our planet. From earthquakes and volcanoes to the creation of sea-floor crusts and shifting river courses, Earth Revealed offers stunning visuals that explain plate tectonics and other geologic concepts and principles. Follow geologists in the field as they explore the primal forces of the Earth."
"The Encyclopedia is a free, fully searchable collection of articles written by scholars, professionals, educators, and experts who collaborate and review each other's work. The articles are written in non-technical language and will be useful to students, educators, scholars, professionals, as well as to the general public."
"The National Geophysical Data Center maintains archives of geomagnetic data to further the understanding of Earth magnetism and the Sun-Earth environment. Data at NGDC include surface, ocean, airborne and satellite measurements, as well as models of the main field and its secular change, and models of the Space - Earth environment. Data on Earth's ancient magnetic field are available from archeomagnetic and paleomagnetic measurements. For those interested in learning more about geomagnetism, we have a general information page, a Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) page, and a site focusing on the joint research with the Colorado Institute for Research in the Environmental Sciences (CIRES)."
"The Geoscience Information Society facilitates the exchange of information in the geosciences through cooperation among scientists, librarians, editors, cartographers, educators, and information professionals."
"Hosted by the University of California's Museum of Paleontology, this site is a selective collection of links to Internet resources on North American paleontology developed by the museum, the Paleontological Society, the Society of Vertebrate Paleontology, and the US Geological Survey. Although far from comprehensive, it offers a good introduction to paleontology, fossils, and related concepts for a broad audience ranging from K-12 students to professionals. In providing links to a wide range of paleontological resources, it is unique among Web sites related to paleontology. The portal is organized into eight sections: Exploring Time and Space, Fossil Gallery, Famous Fauna and Flora, Careers, Resources, K-12, Collections, and PaleoPeople. Exploring Time and Space includes plate tectonic reconstructions and links to virtual exhibits, research, collections, and resources on each geologic period. Fossil Gallery presents information on and images of North American fossils that users may browse by organism type and geologic time period.
Famous Fossils and Flora provides links to information and field guides on significant fossil sites that are linked from a map. Resources contains lists of links to fossil-related Internet sites, such as maps, journals, field guides, general reference works, and information on the history of paleontology. Collections allows professionals to search for fossil specimens in 13 museums. The site search engine locates links to resources and to fossil images. The site also provides RSS feeds for paleontological news and for Web site updates, which are done once or twice a month. The one drawback is the site's focus on Internet resources; a list of recommended print resources, such as books on fossils for children and interested amateurs, would be a useful addition." - L. R. Zellmer, Western Illinois University, from Choice Online
[Visited Nov'11] The impressive, unique website of the Scott Polar Research Institute (SPRI) encompasses an eclectic mix of bibliographic databases, collections, directories, image archives, and historical documentation. SPRI touts itself as having "the world's most comprehensive polar Library and Archives." The institute, situated at the University of Cambridge (UK), was founded in 1920 and named as a memorial to the British polar explorer Robert Scott and his colleagues, who died during their return from the South Pole in 1912. It focuses on research, teaching, collecting, indexing, and disseminating information on circumpolar research, and is of international importance for librarians, archivists, glaciologists, social scientists, geographers, and anyone with an explorer's spirit of adventure. The website is easy to navigate, with its numerous links to online resources and fascinating historical information and artifacts.
The site is segmented by various collections housed within SPRI's library, museum, and archive. The SPRILIB search engine provides access to Antarctica, Ice and Snow, and Russian North databases. Librarians and archivists are to be congratulated on the robustness of the search engine design, and the site's functionality, clean layout, and museum quality displays. Researchers are encouraged to access the subject-specific databases that encompass literature dating back to the early 1600s from a wide range of topics, languages, and geographic regions. These databases index books, conference proceedings and papers, reports, and articles selected from scholarly periodicals, which are all included in the print-based Polar and Glaciological Abstracts. Useful tools for researchers and liaison librarians include the Directory of Polar and Cold Regions Organisations, the Directory of Polar Libraries and Archives, the Polar Museums Directory, and the Directory of European Glaciology. A wish list for this site would include digitizing more collections and providing more coverage of current research themes related to climate change. Summing Up: Highly recommended. Academic, general, and professional audiences, all levels. -- I. D. Gordon, Brock University
"The U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) Earth Resources Observation Systems (EROS) Data Center is the national archive of remotely sensed images of the Earth's land surface. These data are acquired by civilian satellites and aircraft and used to study a wide range of natural hazards, global environmental change, and economic development and conservation issues. EROS staff members manage and distribute these data to scientists, policy makers, and educators worldwide."
"The U.S. Geological Survey Photographic Library offers access to more than 30,000 color and black-and-white photographs taken during geologic studies of the US. All photos are in the public domain, but the USGS requests that users credit the photographer and the USGS when using a photo. Most images have not been published previously, and the site promises to continually add new photographs from the physical collection of 400,000 (though clicking on Latest Additions retrieves updates from 2007). The majority of the online photographs are circa 1868-1993 from surveys in the western US. It is interesting to compare the historical photographs and regions surveyed with images from more recent times to document changes.
Pages load quickly, and images can be downloaded in JPG or GIF format in four size choices. Clicking on an image provides higher resolution and a larger size. Keyword searching is best done by a person's name, geologic feature, date, major geologic event, or name of the survey expedition. The subject navigation bar allows direct access to alphabetic indexes of the portrait collection (geographers, engineers, USGS directors, and geologists), pioneer photographers (19th century), photographers of the 20th century, national parks, world earthquakes, and mines, mills, and quarries. The Mount St. Helens section lists images by year (1964-84). At the time of this review, the section titled This Month in History featured an update from October 2009, which provided an image and brief discussion of an October 1989 California earthquake. There are also links to the USGS and the US Department of the Interior home pages. The site worked equally well in Internet Explorer and Mozilla Firefox. This resource will be of interest to people in geology, local and national history, and photography." from Choice June, 2010.
Web Soil Survey (WSS) provides soil data and information produced by the National Cooperative Soil Survey. It is operated by the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) and provides access to the largest natural resource information system in the world. NRCS has soil maps and data available online for more than 95 percent of the nation’s counties and anticipates having 100 percent in the near future. The site is updated and maintained online as the single authoritative source of soil survey information.