Search for full-text and citations for articles in more than 200 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, 1998 - present. Includes biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews, and events
Full text news stories + law journal articles, legal codes, judge's decisions, SEC filings. Most publications are covered 1980-present. The best place to find full text interviews, the news stories parts of the database include transcripts of news broadcasts. The best place for all types of legal research, full text law reviews, judges decisions, etc. Users can Shepardize court cases electronically, and then read the full text of the related decisions.
Here are a few selected titles of journals and magazines to start with:
East Asian Cinemas
by Leon Hunt (Editor); Leung Wing-Fai (Editor)
Publication Date: 2008-05-15
East Asian cinema is among the most exciting and influential in the world. The popularity of Chinese martial arts films, Japanese horror, and new Korean cinema has attracted popular and critical attention on a global scale, with films from the region circulating as arthouse, cult, blockbuster and ""extreme"" cinema, or as Hollywood remakes. This book explores developments in the global popularity of East Asian cinema, with particular emphasis on crossovers, remakes, hybrids and co-productions. It examines changing cinematic traditions in Asia alongside the ""Asianisation"" of western cinema. It explores the dialogue not only between ""East"" and ""West,"" but between different cinemas in the Asia Pacific. What do these trends mean for global cinema? How are co-productions and crossover films changing the nature of Hollywood and East Asian cinemas? Individual essays include case studies of Park Chan-wook, Infernal Affairs, Seven Samurai, Princess Mononoke and Kill Bill.
Deleuze, Japanese Cinema, and the Atom Bomb
by David Deamer
Publication Date: 2016-01-28
David Deamer establishes the first ever sustained encounter between Gilles Deleuze's Cinema books and post-war Japanese cinema, exploring how Japanese films responded to the atomic bombings of Hiroshima and Nagasaki. From the early days of occupation political censorship to the social and cultural freedoms of the 1960s and beyond, the book examines how images of the nuclear event appear in post-war Japanese cinema.Each chapter begins by focusing upon one or more of three key Deleuzian themes - image, history and thought - before going on to look at a selection of films from 1945 to the present day. These include movies by well-known directors Kurosawa Akira, Shindo Kaneto, Oshima Nagisa and Imamura Shohei; popular and cult classics - Godzilla (1954), Akira (1988) and Tetsuo (1989); contemporary genre flicks - Ring (1998), Dead or Alive (1999) and Casshern (2004); the avant-garde and rarely seen documentaries. The author provides a series of tables to clarify the conceptual components deployed within the text, establishing a unique addition to Deleuze and cinema studies.
Malaysian Cinema, Asian Film
by William van der Heide
Publication Date: 2002-10-01
This monograph departs from traditional studies of national cinema by accentuating the intercultural and intertextual links between Malaysian films and Asian (as well as European and American) film practices. Using cross-cultural analysis, the author characterizes Malaysia as a pluralist society consisting of a multiplicity of cultural identities. Malaysian film reflects this remarkable heterogeneity, particularly evident in the impact of the Indian and Hong Kong cinema. Detailed analyses of a selection of Malaysian films highlight their cultural complexities, while noting the tension between cultural inclusivity and ethnic exclusivity at the heart of this cinema.
by Lotte Hoek
Publication Date: 2013-10-08
Imagine watching an action film in a small-town cinema hall in Bangladesh, and in between the gun battles and fistfights, a short pornographic clip appears. This is known as a cut-piece, a strip of locally made celluloid pornography surreptitiously spliced into the reels of action films in Bangladesh. Exploring the shadowy world of these clips and their place in South Asian film culture, Lotte Hoek builds a rare, detailed portrait of the production, consumption, and cinematic pleasures of stray celluloid. Hoek’s innovative ethnography plots the making and reception of Mintu the Murderer (2005), a popular, Bangladeshi B-quality action movie and fascinating embodiment of the cut-piece phenomenon. She begins with the early scriptwriting phase and concludes with multiple screenings in remote Bangladeshi cinema halls, following the cut-pieces as they appear and disappear from the film, destabilizing its form, generating controversy, and titillating audiences. Hoek’s work shines an unusual light on Bangladesh’s state-owned film industry and popular practices of the obscene. She also reframes conceptual approaches to South Asian cinema and film culture, drawing on media anthropology to decode the cultural contradictions of Bangladesh since economic liberalization.
Women in Japanese Cinema
by Tamae Prindle
Publication Date: 2014-11-21
By studying Japanese films and their associated literature, Tamae K. Prindle reveals the covert stories of Japanese women versus orthodox history. Fifteen films bring this theme into focus. Imamura Shohei's The Ballad of Narayama , Naruse Mikio's Mother, Idemitsu Mako's Great Mother , Kinugasa Teinousuke's Gate of Hell , Kurosawa Akira's No Regrets for Our Youth , Kuwabata Kagenobu's Love and Lie , Toyoda Shiro's The Mistress , Kumai Kei's Sandakan Brothel 8, Takahashi Banmei's Le Nouveau Monde Amoureux, Nishikawa Katsumi's A Dancing Girl in Izu , Obayashi Nobuhiko's Chizuko's Younger Sister , Ichikawa Jun's Tsugumi , Mizoguchi Kenji's Life of Oharu, Itami Juzo's Tampopo , and Ishikawa Jun's Grass Fish on a Tree. "Mother," "Wife," "Whore," "Girl" and "Woman," represent categories the public used to code Japanese women in the pre-feminist age. Each chapter features three films depicting women in the premodern age, in the World War II period, and in late twentieth century Japan, and each embraces the three films within the perspective of ecological feminism, sexuality, alienation, illusion, and power-over/power-to. Shedding light on cultural, historical, and/or ideological backgrounds of the films under study in important new ways, this book breaks new ground in the study of women in Japanese culture. Book jacket.
by Anandam P. Kavoori (Editor); Aswin Punathambekar (Editor)
Publication Date: 2008-08-01
Bollywood is one of the most prolific film industries in the world. Based in Mumbai (formerly Bombay), the industry churns out hundreds of films each year--primarily melodramatic films with music and elaborately choreographed dance routines. Bollywood's popularity is quickly spreading across the globe, and, beyond the films themselves, Bollywood has made its way into global popular culture. Global Bollywood brings together leading scholars to examine the transnational and transmedia terrain of Bollywood. Defining Bollywood as an arena of public culture distinct from Hindi-language Bombay cinema, this volume offers a new critical framework for analyzing the institutional, cultural, and political dimensions of Bollywood films and film music as they begin to constitute an important circuit of global flows in the twenty-first century. Organized thematically, the book examines contestations surrounding the term "Bollywood," changing relations between the state and the film industry, convergence with television and new media, online fan culture, film journalism, and the reception and negotiations of gender and sexuality in diverse socio-cultural contexts. Global Bollywood is indispensable for understanding not only Bollywood cinema and culture but also how global media flows are reconfiguring relationships among geography, cultural production, and cultural identity.