Research Guides: Chinese Studies: Find sources

Background sources

Reference sources provide authoritative overviews and background information on a topic or concept.

Brill’s Encyclopedia of China Online
Brill’s Encyclopedia of China Online is based on the originally a thousand-page reference work on China with a clear focus on the modern period from the mid-nineteenth century to the 21st century.

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of China by Brian Hook (Editor); Denis C. Twitchett (Editor)
Call Number: DS705 .C35 1991
ISBN: 052135594X
Publication Date: 1991-10-25
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of China provides an absorbing and authoritative account of China and all things Chinese - geography, politics, customs, food and drink, the arts, and a rich and colourful history, from ancient times through to the momentous events of the past decade.
The Routledge Handbook of Chinese Studies by Chris Shei (Editor); Weixiao Wei (Editor)
ISBN: 0429059701
Publication Date: 2021-05-30
This Handbook approaches Chinese Studies from an interdisciplinary perspective while attempting to establish a fundamental set of core values and tenets for the subject, in relation to the further development of Chinese Studies as an academic discipline. Topics included in this Handbook cover a wide spectrum of traditional and newly added concerns in Chinese Studies, ranging from the Chinese political system and domestic governance to international relations, Chinese culture, literature and history, Chinese sociology (gender, middle class, nationalism, home ownership, dating) and Chinese opposition and activism. The Handbook also looks at widening the scope of Chinese Studies (Chinese psychology, postcolonialism and China, Chinese science and climate change), and some illustrations of innovative Chinese Studies research methods.

Peer-reviewed articles

Articles in scholarly databases

Use the following databases to find articles and other materials on specific topics in Chinese Studies.

Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Good for research on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide in Western languages.
Content type: Abstracts, scholarly articles, book chapters, conference proceedings
Coverage dates: 1971-present
Language: English, German, French, Spanish
China Academic Journals (CAJ) This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Good for searching Chinese academic journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Content type: Scholarly articles, magazine articles
Coverage dates: 1951-present
Our subscription does not include access to full text articles in STEM fields.
Language: English, Chinese
Keywords: CNKI
CNKI AcademicFocus This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Good for research in environmental studies and related subject areas focusing on China and other parts of Asia, from English language journals published in China, Chinese journals translated into English, and English proceedings of international conferences.
Content type: Abstracts, scholarly articles, conference proceedings, magazine articles
Language: English
Keywords: Academic Focus

National Social Science Database [China]

Newspapers and magazines

Use the following databases to find newspapers and magazine articles

People's Daily (1946-Present) This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Good for following and tracking Chinese government stance on historical and current events via this official newspaper of the Chinese Communist Party, whcih contains government policy information and resolutions.
Content type: Newspaper articles
Coverage dates: 1946-present
Through this newspaper, the Communist Party of China announce their respective policies and disseminate governmental, political, and economic messages to the public and the world. Most importantly, since its inception the newspaper has been the true barometer of the political climate of Chinese society on a daily basis.
Language: Chinese, English
China Academic Journals (CAJ) This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Good for searching Chinese academic journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Content type: Scholarly articles, magazine articles
Coverage dates: 1951-present
Our subscription does not include access to full text articles in STEM fields.
Language: English, Chinese
Keywords: CNKI
South China Morning Post, Historical This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Explore Hong Kong originated first-hand accounts of the politics, society and events in Hong Kong, China, Asia, and the world.
Content type: Newspaper articles, primary sources
Coverage dates: 1903-2001
Digitized scans are full-text searchable and include advertisements, editorials, cartoons, and photographs.
Language: English
Keywords: ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Explore this collection of historical Chinese newspapers to learn more about Chinese life, culture and politics in the Republic of China era after the collapse of the Qing Dynasty.
Content type: Primary sources, newspaper articles
Coverage dates: 1911-1949
Includes 13 Republic era Chinese newspapers: 華北新報，實報，東南日報，立報，鉄報，時事新報，新申報，群力報，中央日報，新華日報，武漢日報，大公晚報，西南日報.
Language: Chinese
Keywords: Global Press Archive
Modern Chinese Newspaper Series Database This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Research Chinese modern history, and identity politics of colonial Taiwan.
Content type: News articles, photos, images, government reports
Coverage dates: 1872-1949
Includes 5 newspapers: Shun Pao (1872-1949); Central Daily News (1928-1949); Taiwan Nichi Nichi Shinpo (1898-1944); Taiwan Min Bao (1920-1932)
Language: Chinese, Japanese

Print subscriptions to more than a hundred titles of periodicals are available in the Asian Library on the 3rd floor of Honnold.

Books

Use the search box at the Library's homepage to search for books by title or topic.

Books in Asian languages such as Chinese, Japanese and Korean are shelved in the Asian Library on the 3rd floor of Honnold.

You can also use the following database to search for books published in China:

Duxiu This link opens in a new window
Why search here? A powerful database for searching a wide range of Chinese sources including full-text Chinese books, articles, theses, web pages, newspapers.
Content type: Abstracts, scholarly articles, books, newspaper articles, dissertations and theses, conference proceedings, video clips
Seleced full text available via built-in document delivery function.
Language: Chinese

Other Databases

Use the following databases to collect statistics and information for your research:

China Data Online This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Good for census data and most recent statistics at county, city, provincial and national level.
Content type: Data, statistics
Our subscription does not include access to spatial data.
Language: English, Chinese

China Statistical Yearbook Database This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Explore the most comprehensive and up-to-date data and statistics published by the Chinese government, covering all areas and industries of China.
Content type: Data, statistics, books, government reports
Coverage dates: 1949-present
Special Note: To view in English with less functionality, click on “China Data Insights” on the top of the homepage.
Our subscription does not include statistical yearbooks in General Survey (综合) category. Includes topics such as living conditions and price indices, finance, energy and the environment; political and public administration, transportation and telecommunication, domestic and foreign trade, tourism, education, technology, culture, sports and public health.
Language: Chinese, English
Keywords: CSYD