Comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Monitors all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academicsHosts the largest open access archive in philosophyUses advanced trawling techniques and large-scale crowd-sourcing to monitor all sources.
Provides access to citations from all known scholarly work published in any language concerning the areas of ancient Greek and Latin language and linguistics, Greek and Roman history, literature, philosophy, art, archaeology, religion, mythology, music, science, early Christian texts, numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy, and concerning the time period from the second millennium B.C. to roughly 500-800 A.D. N.B. This database does not have the green "Get This Item" button. Please check the Blais Library catalog under journal or book title to see whether The Libraries have an item.
For records without full text, use the green "get this item record" to see how and whether we have a book or article.
Primary Resources in Ancient History
These resources will lead you to texts, images, and reference sources on the ancient world. Some are paid resources to which the libraries subscibe and require authentification off campus with Claremont Colleges ID.
Comprehensive Greek and Latin literature with English translations. Contains epic and lyric poetry, tragedy, comedy, history, travel, philosophy, oratory, medical writers, mathematicians, and Church Fathers who used pagan culture. Up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts that allow readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share. Key features include: Single- and dual-language reading modes. Sophisticated Bookmarking and Annotation features. Tools for sharing Bookmarks and Annotations. Greek keyboard. User account and My Loeb content saved in perpetuity. Intuitive Search and Browse. Inclusion of every Loeb volume in print. Regular uploading of new and revised volumes.
Contains virtually all ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600, and a large number of texts deriving from the period between A.D. 600 and 1453. Topics include Greek literature, history, and culture. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era.
Electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. Comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. Contains the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Migne's column numbers, essential references for scholars, are included.
Full Text philosophy and theology classics online in scholarly editions (many of them complete). Includes works of Plato, Aristotle, Aquinas, Augustine (Latin), Descartes, Spinoza, and Leibniz, Hobbes, Bacon, Locke, Luther, Santayana, Mill, Nietzsche (German), Pierce, Rousseau, Sidgwick, Anselm (Latin), Kierkegaard (Danish), Dewey, and others. Powerful searching and text analysis capabilities. This is an incomparable collection of primary resources to meet the needs of scholars in philosophy, theology, political theory, and intellectual history.
A website hosted at Tufts University collecting historical materials from ancient, medieval and modern periods, but including Greek and Latin classics, some in English, some in Greek and Latin -- as well as Papyri. Includes many supplementary, secondary texts.
Primary sources of all types can also be found in regular, circulating books. To find collected documents on a particular topic, try combining keywords for the topic you're researching with the words "source* (for the words "source" or "sources"), document* (to get the words "document" or "documents" or "documentary") or text in Library Search, for example: "ancient Rome and (document* or source* or text)" or "ancient middle east and (document* or source* or text)"