Access to the theories, practices, and consequences of economic and business activity in the West. Coverage: from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century. The Making of the Modern World offers researchers new ways to understand the emergence of modern economics and other social sciences. One of the most comprehensive collection in existence for researching the literature of economics from this period. Access to the theories, practices, and consequences of economic and business activity in the West, from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century. It combines the strengths of two pre-eminent collections - the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London Library and the Kress Collection of Business and Economics at the Harvard Business School along with supplementary materials from the Seligman Collection in the Butler Library at Columbia University and from the libraries of Yale University.
Historical documents in the following collections: Latin American & Caribbean Studies; African American Studies; Asian Studies; Asian American Studies; Chinese History; SAFEHAVEN Reports on Nazi Looting; OBSERVER News for the American Soldier ; Nicaragua: Political Instability and U.S. Intervention.
Provides access to the full-text English language translations of foreign news service articles, translations of foreign speeches and other news items, selected full text from 1991-, full text from 1996-. Covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, environmental issues and current events throughout the world. Updated daily, WNC offers an extensive array of translated and English-language news and information.
Offers novels, short stories, poetry and plays inspired by the intersection of cultures between the United States and six different countries and regions that constitute the Latino world. The majority of the works are in English with selected works of particular importance presented in Spanish. The collection begins with the works of Chicano writers in the Southwest in the early 19th century and continues to the present. The inaugural collection features plays, some never published before, poetry and fiction from authors of Puerto Rican, Dominican, Chicano, Central American, South American, and Cuban descent.
An enormous collection of both in-copyright and public domain book and serial resources, many from the 19th and early 20th century.
Primary Sources in Library Catalogs
Primary sources of all types can also be found in our regular, circulating books, in special collections, and beyond. Here are few ways to find primary texts and sources by using our own Library Search.
1. Use the author search to find books we have by a particular author, politician, journalist or another type of historical witness
2. Do an advanced keyword search in The Library Search and then limit by publication year under “limit your search”) (note: you can also limit by language and many other ways)