British State Papers of the Tudors, Domestic, 1509-1603 and Stuarts, Domestic, 1603-1714. Gathers together 16th-, 17th-, and 18th-Century British State Papers and links these rare historical manuscripts to their fully text-searchable Calendars. Allows Early Modern scholars access to the behind the scenes workings of the Tudor and Stuart governments. Supports trans- and multi-disciplinary, as well as early modern, historical, political, and social science research. Part I: The Tudors, Henry VIII to Elizabeth I, 1509-1603, State Papers Domestic. Part II: The Tudors, Henry VIII to Elizabeth I, 1509-1603, State Papers Foreign, Ireland, Scotland, Borders and Acts of Privy Council. Part III: The Stuarts: James I to Anne, 1603-1714, State Papers Domestic. Part IV: The Stuarts: James to Anne, 1603 - 1714: State Papers Foreign, Ireland; and Registers of the Privy Council. State Papers Online: 18th century Part I.
Provides access to early printed works in English listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue 1475-1640, Wing's Short-Title Catalogue 1641-1700, and the Thomason Tracts 1640-1661. Full-text images of every page of each work can be viewed online or downloaded. 1475-1700. This is an incomparable collection of primary resources to meet the needs of scholars in English literature, history, linguistics, the fine arts, and the history of printing.
Provides access to English-language titles and editions published between 1701-1800. Full-text images of 33 million text-searchable pages can be viewed online or downloaded. 1701-1800. An incomparable collection of primary resources to meet the needs of scholars in English literature, history, linguistics, the fine arts, and the history of printing. When complete, will include every significant 18th-century English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
Access to the theories, practices, and consequences of economic and business activity in the West. Coverage: from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century. The Making of the Modern World offers researchers new ways to understand the emergence of modern economics and other social sciences. One of the most comprehensive collection in existence for researching the literature of economics from this period. Access to the theories, practices, and consequences of economic and business activity in the West, from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century. It combines the strengths of two pre-eminent collections - the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London Library and the Kress Collection of Business and Economics at the Harvard Business School along with supplementary materials from the Seligman Collection in the Butler Library at Columbia University and from the libraries of Yale University.
Assembled by John de Monins Johnson (1882-1956), Printer to the University, these printed documents, including posters and handbills for theatrical and non-theatrical entertainments, broadsides relating to murders and executions, book and journal prospectuses, popular topographical prints, and different kinds of printed advertising material. The documents, theatre material and non-theatrical entertainment material, cover various aspects of everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
Provides access to primary documents related to women's history, 1543-1945. Includes some two million page images from primary documents on topics such as women's rights, suffrage, birth control, the nature and role of women, the historical and legal status of women, prostitution, the education of girls and women, biography and autobiography, and secondary materials on women writers, marriage and the family, employment of women, women and religion, and women's voluntary associations.
A collection of 17th and 18th century British newspapers and periodicals. Claremont has access to sources from the Harry Ransom Center, University of Texas. These holdings were documented in British Newspapers and Periodicals, 1632-1800, and other titles have been added. Claremont has access to sources from the Harry Ransom Center, University of Texas (section: Eighteenth Century Journals II, Newspapers and Periodicals 1699-1812, from the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center, University of Texas at Austin). Supports studies of the Eighteenth Century ' including Literature, the Theatre, the origins and rise of Romanticism, Politics, Revolution and Rebellion, Social issues, Gender, Society Life, Religion and the influence of the Press. Does not duplicate resources in EEBO, Early English Newspapers and ECCO. Digitized, searchable.
United Kingdom printed serial material from the nineteenth-century. Collection covers the period 1800 to 1900. When complete it will make available full runs of nearly 600 titles, some of which exist only in a single copy, such is the fragile state of much nineteenth-century printed material. Six million pages of nineteenth-century journalism, fully searchable, sourced from the British Library, the National Library of Scotland and other specialist libraries, offers a collection of unparalleled range and diversity. Collections include New Readerships: Women's, Children's, Humour and Leisure/Sport, and Empire: Travel and Anthropology, Economics, Missionary and Colonial
Primary Sources in Library Catalogs
Primary sources of all types can also be found in our regular, circulating books, in special collections, and beyond. Here are few ways to find primary texts and sources by using our own Library Search.
1. Use the author search to find books we have by a particular author, politician, journalist or another type of historical witness
2. Do an advanced keyword search in The Library Search and then limit by publication year under “limit your search”) (note: you can also limit by language and many other ways)