The term data refers to qualitative or quantitative attributes of a variable or set of variables. Data (plural of "datum") are typically the results of measurements and can be the basis of graphs, images, or observations of a set of variables. Data are often viewed as the lowest level of abstraction from which information and then knowledge are derived. Raw data, i.e. unprocessed data, refers to a collection of numbers, characters, images or other outputs from devices that collect information to convert physical quantities into symbols.
Company data, market data, news, country and economic data, analytics and trading tools. Single user resource. Requires Internet Explorer to access. Contact the Services Desk for user name and password. This database will be replacing Thomson One Banker with the same financial information service, including company data, market data, news, country and economic data, analytics and trading tools. It includes Datastream with Worldscope. The database is updated daily, and historical equity information goes back as far as 1973, though coverage varies across countries and types of content. There are two interfaces: Web Access (using the login) and a download option for the Excel add-in. The Excel add-in allows one to access the data through Excel, and to create templates with more detail than Thomson One allows. Some features have not migrated to Thomson Eikon as of May 2017.
Comprehensive economic and financial time-series database covering 200 countries and 6,500 different data series. For full functionality, create an account using your Claremont email. For full functionality, create an account using your Claremont email. Includes data on stock markets, exchange rates, interest rates, commodities, and inflation. Selected current and historical stock price data is also available. Users can download data into spreadsheet format or use the graphing software.
Provides access to directory and financial information about companies and industries. Advanced search features like Build Company List and Build Executive List. Data available for dead companies in the Business Boneyard. Updated daily. Browse lists of companies organized by stock index, geography, industry, and more.
Mergent (Moody's) Company Data and International Company Data is a database containing information on companies worldwide. Provides historical data going back 10 years in some cases, data is downloadable into Excel format. MERGENT Equity Portraits combines fundamental company information with stock price, volume and other data to paint a detailed picture of U.S. firms, and analysis of the firm's financial health, in-depth industry analysis and text commentary on the firm both in absolute terms, as well as relative to industry peers. Does not contatin industry reports or information on private companies.
There are Bloomberg terminals available at the FEI at CMC and at CGU Academic Computing. You must contact those labs to find out about access. The library does not have a Bloomberg terminal.