Skip to main content

Standards Amazing Shared Box Guide - no more reinventing the wheel!

Finding Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Articles

When you want to peer-reviewed, scholarly articles use these databases:

Finding Full Text from a Citation

You can find the full text of many articles, chapters, and books by searching their titles in the Library Search

If you cannot find an article this way,  search for the journal title in the Electronic Journals List and browse your way to the article

Get This Item

Once you have found articles you want to read, the button provides a quick way to find any available online full-text copies or request electronic copies through Interlibrary Loan.

Step 1: first looks for any full text of your article that is available in the library's online resources. If it finds full text it will take you to a page where you can open the full text as either html or pdf.

Step 2:  If the library doesn't have electronic access to the article you need, you can request a copy through Resource Sharing. Simply click on the "Request Item" button located towards the bottom of the record. Within a few days, you will receive an email from the library with a link to a downloadable copy of the article you requested.

 

Open Access Content

When you are affiliated with a higher education instituion, you have information privilege. That is, you have access to Library-subscribed scholarly content that is not freely available on the open web. Little known fact: this access usually ends when you graduate.

Led by academic libraries and information activists, the Open Access movement provides an alternative: a bridge to to open scholarship, no matter your institutional ties. OA expands the content that is available across access barriers, and is gaining ground in the scholarly community. As you engage in your research, try exploring the following OA repositories:

BASE is a vast cross-disciplinary international metasearch for OA content.

The Directory of Open Access Journals covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals and aims to cover all subjects and all languages.

OpenDoar is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. From University of Nottingham, UK.

ROAR provides up-to-date visual access to a huge database of open access repositories.

Also, check out the Linked Open Data cloud:

 

These and many other OA resources will be available to you after you leave the Claremont Colleges. For more information on hundreds of open content and open data repositories, check out our Open Repositories & Research Data and Scholarly Communications and Open Access guides.