Welcome! I created this course guide to assist you with finding library resources related to your final research paper for ID1 "Flashpoints" in Rock and Roll History. Please feel free to contact me at any point throughout the research process if you need help or want a friendly person to help you walk through the research process.
For your final research assignment for this course, you will write a 10-12 page paper about a flashpoint in rock history that is of interest to you. In your research paper, you will "explain the necessary background, the nature of the controversy, and what the controversy tells us about the nature of rock & roll." (Dettmar, Term paper assignment.) In order to do so, you will need to balance primary sources with peer-reviewed secondary sources, while reference sources like music encyclopedias can be valuable for your background research.
Ignore Sign-in. Authoritative articles including biographies of composers and performers; world music; jazz, rock, and pop; musical instruments, and musical genres; bibliographies and lists of composers' works; continuously updated.
This is a multi-disciplinary database that contains full text for nearly 4,700 publications. It includes both peer-reviewed and popular publications. Of interest to this course, it provides full access to Rolling Stone magazine.
Provides access to resources owned by the Claremont Colleges Library, and to millions of resources from libraries worldwide that we do not own. In addition to physical materials housed in the library, Library Search also provides access to online sources (e-books, articles, dissertations, and streaming video and audio).
Citations to articles about classical and popular music from 1949 to present.
There are all kinds of primary sources in all kinds of media: newspapers, personal journals, concert posters, bootleg recordings, oral histories, and more. The databases below give you a place to start.
LexisNexis is a good bet if you are looking for recent news articles, including from major newspapers like the New York Times. It also includes the full text of interviews and transcripts of news broadcasts.
Citation Management Tools
Citation Managers are tools to help you keep track of your citations as you research and to create/format your citations and bibliography. Both RefWorks and Zotero allow you to keep citations, full text articles, and other research resources organized in one place. You can also use these tools to format your bibliographies and the notes/citations in your papers according to the appropriate style (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.).
Zotero is a free open source application that works with Firefox, Chrome, and Safari, you can also download a client to your computer. It is a good choice if you use just one computer when researching. You can access citation information when online or offline.
RefWorks is web-based and available only to 7C users. Your data is saved on the RefWorks servers so you must be online to access your citations. So if you use multiple computers you may want to consider this option.