Skip to main content

CGU EDUC 369: Foundations: Articles

Review Articles

Literature reviews

Literature reviews are articles that review and evaluate published scholarship in a specific area of research. They can help you get a feel for the background and current state of research on your topic. Searching for literature reviews is not the same process in all databases. In general, try including key words or phrases such as literature review or synthesis in a keyword or subject (descriptor) search to locate reviews. For example: literature review and school choice.

Here are some tips for a few specific databases that include education literature: 

Academic Search Premier.  Enter literature reviews as your search term, then select SU subject terms as the search field.

Eric. Enter literature reviews as your search term, then select DE Descriptors (exact) as the search field.

PsycINFO. Enter literature review as your search term, then select Methodology as the search field.

Sociological Abstracts. Enter literature review as your search term, then select Identifier-IF as the search field.

Book reviews

Sources for locating book reviews include the following:

Academic Search Premier (select Document Type book review) from the Limit options.

Book Review Digest Plus

Book Review Index (available in Honnold/Mudd Library in paper only). Covers more scholarly journals than Books Review Digest.

Lexis Nexis Academic. Select book, movie, music, play, and video reviews from the Sources menu on the News search screen.

Omnifile. Select book review from the Document Type menu.

Newspaper Articles

Scholarly Journal Articles

These databases are recommended for research in education. For the full list of library databases, see the databases page at http://libraries.claremont.edu/resources/databases/

Major Databases

ERIC. Contains over 700,000 citations covering research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education published since 1966.

Education Full Text. Indexes and abstracts articles in key education journals.

Higher Education Abstracts (1997-present): Abstracts of journal articles and reports, conference papers on a wide variety of topics in postsecondary education.

Additional Databases

Academic Search Premier. A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications.

Google Scholar. Google's search tool for locating scholarly literature such as journal articles, theses, books, documents in preprint repositories, and others across many disciplines. Set Scholar Preferences to Claremont Colleges to determine if the Claremont Colleges library has access to journal articles that you find in Google Scholar.

PsycINFO. Indexes periodical articles in the field of psychology. Helpful for topics in educational or school psychology.

Sociological Abstracts. Indexes articles in the field of sociology published since 1974. Helpful for research in the sociology of education.

Get This Item

Once you have found articles you want to read, the button provides a quick way to find any available online full-text copies or request electronic copies through Resource Sharing.

looks for any full text of your article that is available in the library's online resources. When it finds full text, you will usually see a "Get Article" link that will take you directly to the article or to a page where you can open the full text as either html or pdf.