Skip to main content

Internship Programs Research Guide : Scholarly Articles

This Research Guide has been created to assist students completing summer internships in writing research papers

Sherlock

Sherlock (the Library Beta Search Engine) sometimes works well for International Relations Topics - it searches across a variety of sources and handles multiple topics. For example: Counterinsurgency in Afghanistan and in Nicaraugua. But don't use the phrase like that. Connect the words with AND - Counterinsurgency AND Afghanistan AND Nicaragua.

Search Sherlock for articles, books & more

Newspaper Articles

Also use Sherlock for additional road-based newspaper searching.

Political Science Databases

Legal Databases

General/Related Databases

Get This Item

Once you have found articles you want to read, the button provides a quick way to find any available online full-text copies or request electronic copies through Interlibrary Loan.

Step 1: first looks for any full text of your article that is available in the library's online resources. When it finds full text, you will usually see a "Get Article" link that will take you directly to the article or to a page where you can open the full text as either html or pdf.

Step 2:  If the library doesn't have electronic access to the article you need, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan. Within a few days, you will receive an email from the library with a link to a downloadable copy of the article you requested which is yours to keep. NOTE: Be sure to download the article as soon as you receive the email; copyright law does not allow the link to remain active for more than a few days.